Treasure hunt

Pirate related treasures for birthday 35:th-3

35 pennies (Copper Doubloons)
eyepatch
seashells
cigar box to put them in
an anchor
map
spyglass
cannon ball
a hook
a wooden leg
necklace
jewelry

You guys are awesome. The idea of 35 pennies doubling as copper Doubloons is my favorite and two different people suggested that one. These were just a few of the things you came up with for our son’s birthday treasure hunt. Someone even suggested we plant some of these things ahead of time with our neighbors. Great idea.

The only problem is our birthday boy is onto us. He’s also an avid Catch reader and now he knows about it, and as I surmised, is coming up with lots of reasons why this might not be a good idea.

I can understand that. Who wants to go up to a perfect stranger with a list of silly stuff to fill … and going as adults no less. It’s humbling. It’s childish. It’s needy. It’s maybe a little desperate. My guess, however, is that all but the neighborhood curmudgeon would jump at the chance to join in the fun. Finally, something to break up the boring monotony of our daily routines. “Come check this out, dear. These people are on a treasure hunt!” I know I would rise to the occasion if they came to my door. I would want to see the list. “Oh, we have that, and that … oh, and that table leg in the garage would make a perfect peg leg! I’ll go get it!” I can even see people coming up with creative ways of solving these, like an extra hanging hook for potted plants. I’ve got at least four or five of those in the cellar.

Really, can you imagine anybody reacting any differently? People want to join in the fun; they just need a good excuse. Christopher and his friends will be waking up the neighborhood if they choose to do this. And our neighbors will be talking about it for months.

The reason this will work is because we are all seeking treasure. We are, all of us, on a treasure hunt for what is valuable in life. Why else would Rick Warren’s book soar to the top of the charts? It promised meaning and purpose — something everyone is looking for. Or how about The Prayer of Jabez? Remember? It was perceived as providing a key to unlock success, wealth and happiness.

Every day we rub shoulders with people who are seeking. They are treasure hunters. They are looking for bounty. We are too. Take them your list. Ask them if they want to join you on your hunt. Ask them if they have any of these things.

hope
peace
love
forgiveness
faith
acceptance
power
friendship
fulfillment
honor
dignity
eternal life

It’s a great list. It’s actually everybody’s list. And just because the Lord may have found us, doesn’t mean we aren’t still seeking these things. Everyone is. Instead of walking around like you’ve got all the answers, ask the right questions. Show them your list. It’s humbling. It’s childish. It’s needy. It’s maybe a little desperate. My guess, however, is that all but the neighborhood curmudgeon would jump at the chance to join in the search. And be sure and see what they come up with first. No telling what they’ve got buried in their basement somewhere.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Treasure hunt

  1. Happy birthday to Christopher!!! Whatever y’all do, it’ll be fun!!

  2. Lisa in Sunland says:

    Sounds like such fun! Even at fifty-(mumble) I would do this if someone arranged it for me! Items that sprang to mind today – hat, bandana, rope, chain, knife, some representation of the Jolly Roger (or maybe any flag).

  3. TimC says:

    This trinkets to treasure talk reminded me of the old poem:

    The Touch of the Master’s Hand

    ‘Twas battered and scarred,
    And the auctioneer thought it
    hardly worth his while
    To waste his time on the old violin,
    but he held it up with a smile.

    “What am I bid, good people”, he cried,
    “Who starts the bidding for me?”
    “One dollar, one dollar, Do I hear two?”
    “Two dollars, who makes it three?”
    “Three dollars once, three dollars twice, going for three,”

    But, No,
    From the room far back a gray bearded man
    Came forward and picked up the bow,
    Then wiping the dust from the old violin
    And tightening up the strings,
    He played a melody, pure and sweet
    As sweet as the angel sings.

    The music ceased and the auctioneer
    With a voice that was quiet and low,
    Said “What now am I bid for this old violin?”
    As he held it aloft with its’ bow.

    “One thousand, one thousand, Do I hear two?”
    “Two thousand, Who makes it three?”
    “Three thousand once, three thousand twice,
    Going and gone”, said he.

    The audience cheered,
    But some of them cried,
    “We just don’t understand.”
    “What changed its’ worth?”
    Swift came the reply.
    “The Touch of the Masters Hand.”

    And many a man with life out of tune
    All battered with bourbon and gin
    Is auctioned cheap to a thoughtless crowd
    Much like that old violin

    A mess of pottage, a glass of wine,
    A game and he travels on.
    He is going once, he is going twice,
    He is going and almost gone.

    But the Master comes,
    And the foolish crowd never can quite understand,
    The worth of a soul and the change that is wrought
    By the Touch of the Masters’ Hand.

    Myra Brooks Welch

  4. John Haak says:

    We are all looking for the same things that bring enduring Joy and your description of your neighbors is great reinforcement to remind me of that today. I committed to preach through Revelation (in seven messages) and the harsh reality of Judgment is sobering. But what you said lines right up with the “mourning” of Revelation 17-19 (my passage this week). People deceived finally realize they have been fooled and they are in pain over it. That is a human response that helps me remember we are surrounded by lost victims, not enemies. The Real Treasure Chris and Crew will find is people glad to connect and be included and in that way, being loved. Someone said that is a good idea … but I am with Chris and be eager to shut the whole thing down.

  5. Mark Seguin says:

    Like to highly 2nd this: “…just because the Lord may have found us, doesn’t mean we aren’t still seeking these things. Everyone is.”

    And TimC your post of that poem, while reading it put many of tears rolling down my cheeks reminding me of a very good memory. You see back in the eighties I was in a serious car accident, which killed my date, a very lovely woman that was a passenger (who is, i believe w/ the Lord) and put me into a coma for a few months. When I a-woke from it, a friend gave me that poem and said something like: While you was in the coma do you know how many people were loving you by praying for you to “wake up” and know you were touched by the “Master’s Hand!”

    So thank-you 4 helping me recall it and the love our God as for me and all of us! Plus Pastor John I know that I know I’m still seeking and often I find more things to luv my God for and about! For He is a good Lord!

    • Ralph Gaily says:

      Thanks for sharing that Mark. Sometimes it takes a long time to get to know someone… unless that someone throws open the “window” and allows a look inside. Glad you “woke up”…. brother. ….,r

      • Mark Seguin says:

        Thx brother Ralph, appreciate it and you, plus me too. I am very glad i ‘woke up’ and often finding things & people to help me learn how to luv our Lord more & deeper… :)

  6. peggy thomas says:

    This made me think of a conversation I had yesterday – a brainstorming event – treasure hunting in a summer day camp with digital cameria’s – now I am considering have a date with the hubby and possibly our daughter – and doing a digital treasure hunt for those treasures we all search for…hope
    peace
    love
    forgiveness
    faith
    acceptance
    power
    friendship
    fulfillment
    honor
    dignity
    eternal life-
    I think it would be a wonderful opportunity for us to talk about what these blessings look like in our lives here….
    May you and your family continue to be blessed…

  7. Carole in Midland says:

    Those of you who have seen Gone with the Wind or Fried Green Tomatoes, KNOW that us Southern gals master the art of manipulation at a very tender age (not saying that’s a GOOD thing, just a TRUE thing). So here’s my idea: If Chris balks, thinking that a big brave policeman would tarnish his image with such foolery, just remind him how hard his poor mother worked on this to make his day special and that if he doesn’t go thru with it she will be devastated and the whole neighborhood will be deprived of the fun to be had. Yeah. THAT ought to do it. Just promise Chris that you’ll help him come up with some equally silly and embarrassing thing for his MOM’s next special day – Mom’s Day, maybe? :)

Leave a Reply

