Thinking small; THINKING BIG

th-13Why have only one when you already have them all?

“So don’t boast about following a particular human leader. For everything belongs to you— whether Paul or Apollos or Peter, or the world, or life and death, or the present and the future. Everything belongs to you, and you belong to Christ, and Christ belongs to God.” (1 Corinthians 3:21-23)

According to this, we are incredibly wealthy. “Everything belongs to you,” Paul writes to the church at Corinth that was divided into factions around which leader they were following. And then he goes on to list everything, and he doesn’t just stop with Christian leaders, but goes on to include things like the world, life and death, the present and the future, and finally concludes with “everything.”

If everything belongs to us, why are we selling ourselves so short?

Do you ever read scriptures like this and just read on, because what it says seem too preposterous to be true? Well, he can’t possibly mean “everything.” But if it doesn’t mean everything, then it is not the word of God.

Here are some things I think “everything” means:

Everything that means anything.
Everything that matters.
Everything that is true.
Everything that will last.
Everything that we need.
Everything that we really want.
Everything that will make us happy.
Everything that will make us successful.
Everything that will make us able to do the will of God.
Everything that will enable us to be who God meant us to be.
Everything that will enable us to make a difference in the world.

If you start out today with the knowledge that you already have everything, you’re going to have a pretty good day.

I desperately need to learn how to think this way, because I’m sure not acting like it’s true. I’m acting like I actually have only very little. That’s because I live in a very little box that only has room in it for just a few little things, anyway — certainly not enough room for “everything.”

But this is a debilitating way to think that is tied to the old covenant where everything depends on me, and therefore I need to keep just a few little things around me or else I won’t be able to manage it. I’m a minimalist — a person who advocates or practices smallness in life. I like to keep my world small because if it gets too big, I just want to go back to bed.

I almost went back to bed this morning. You almost got an old Catch so I could get this out and go back to bed for an hour because I didn’t get much sleep last night. But then I came upon this verse that God bopped me over the head with, and here we are awake and aware and finding out how big our world is. Do you want to find out with me?

To see this any other way is an affront to God. It’s to read His word and not believe it.

We need to step out of our little boxes into the big, wide world, where everything is ours and we are Christ’s and Christ is God’s. That’s being a part of something pretty darn big!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinking small; THINKING BIG

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    like to add a big yes & Amen to this, becauz to & for me it’s soooo true: “We need to step out of our (or mine Mark’s S) little boxes into the big, wide world, where everything is ours and we are Christ’s and Christ is God’s. That’s being a part of something pretty darn big!”
    PS also glad udidn’t go back to bed Pastor John :)

  2. Carole in Midland says:

    I hear you, John! Is calling yourself a minimalist really just a nice way of saying Control Freak? That’s the case for me, anyway. If I can’t CONTROL it, I don’t want to see it, or even know about it, so when I come face to face with it, I, too, want to hide under the covers until it goes away. Here’s what I’m coming to realize, though – control is just an illusion. There are WAY too many variables (like, say, LIFE, for instance) to really be in control of much of anything. I saw this cartoon of a happy frog jumping about, and the caption read: Life is Too Important to Take Seriously. I kinda like that frog. Funny how we Christians often say, “God is in Control,” and then we promptly set about to do things our way with our own limited resources and then wonder why things aren’t going the way we wanted them to go. If we could get our heads around the fact that God REALLY IS in control, knew us and everything we’d face, and HAD a PLAN for it even before time began, we could ALL be happy little frogs. Don’t know about you, but I’m still in the tadpole stage. (That would be “pollywog” stage for y’all Northerners… )

  3. Martha Nelson says:

    Thank you for your faithfulness!
    I was raised and blessed by godly parents and grandparents The legacy of love for God, family, and country, in that order, has had eternal significance in my life. I already had these blessings set aside for me before I was born because of God’s faithfulness and my parent’s faithfulness – in that order. I do have ABSOLUTELY everything – and thank you for reminding me! The Lord is good!

Leave a Reply

