A week of GIVING

ALERT: MORE STORIES NEEDED!

Well, we have a start, but we have a lot more stories out there waiting to be told. Your stories will help inspire others. We want to create a giving chain this weekend so keep ’em coming!

Here are three stories of giving to which I will add one from Marti and me. We are going to buy a turkey today, prepare it to cook in the morning, and take it over to the Congregational Church where they provide a Thanksgiving dinner for the homeless in town. It’s a sit-down dinner where those who donate sit down with those less fortunate and share a meal together. This is our first time to do this so I will let you know how it goes.

Eight years of giving (so far)
I am 65 and a single retired woman with several health issues. However since my beloved granddaughter was born almost eight years ago, I have been raising her. When her mom was pregnant, her other child, my other precious granddaughter, was not even a year old. Her mom believed she could not manage two small children and wanted to abort my beloved granddaughter. I begged her not to do this and told her when the baby was born that I would take her home with me and raise her. So now this loving, beautiful girl will be eight years old soon, and I legally adopted her on June 24th 2013. She has taught me to have patience, to apologize when I am wrong, to do the right thing, and has given me so many other countless gifts. Both she and her sister are the loves of my life, and they are both my mission in life. My other loving mission is giving a good, loving home to countless, homeless pets over the years. Currently we have 5 fur babies.  – June

A simple shopping cart
I will share what I did today before I read your challenge. I was in the grocery store and I noticed this guy was having trouble getting around. He was behind me in line so I asked if I could take his cart and put it away for him. He thanked me profusely and I did so little.   – Kathryn

Thanksgiving in China
I woke up early today to go to the supermarket to get the last few things I need for the huge Thanksgiving dinner I will make today and tomorrow to thank my Chinese teachers and staff here. As if I have time to do this … BUT I just know that I should, and amazingly Father has provided all of the materials I not only needed, but wanted, to make the perfect REAL Thanksgiving meal in China, no less. I even have a TURKEY! It has been four years since I have tasted turkey. That may not be a big deal to y’all who can get anything and everything, but for me, it is HUGE. So I was tired driving there, and bought all I needed, and it was just the amount that I had in the bank, and I was feeling pretty thankful overall, but wondering how in the world I was going to accomplish all of this. As I got in the car to go home, my whole body felt like it was wrapped in this warm wonderful blanket. For lack of a better description I could feel Him all over me and this indescribable peace flooded me and almost brought me to tears. I felt the most complete I have felt in a long while.  – Julia

We want to post more of your stories so please don’t hesitate to send yours, especially the simple ones like Kathryn’s shopping cart story. And in case you’ve run out of ideas, here are some more …

  1. Assuming she wants to be on the other side, walk a little old lady across the street.
  2. When next in line at Starbucks, tell the barista behind the counter that you are picking up the tab for the person in front of you. When  the bewildered person turns to you and tries to refuse, simply say “Hey, it’s on me today.”
  3. The next time you are at your vehicle repair shop, purchase 2 new tires. In lieu of taking them with you, ask your mechanic for a gift certificate or receipt. Then keep your eyes wide open for a vehicle that really needs to replace 2 tires. Once you have spotted the almost disabled vehicle, put in an envelope the directions to the repair shop, the mechanic’s name, and the gift certificate or receipt for the driver’s 2 new tires. Tuck the envelop under the windshield wiper and then dash away before the driver sees you.
  4. If you know someone who is struggling financially or is not as active as he once was, offer to clean his home or do the yard work.
  5. A Single Mom often feels embarrassed and judged because she thinks married couples see her as a failure. Yet she is very hungry for acceptance. So leave a love letter in her mailbox noting how much you admire her courage in not giving up, how you’ve seen her compassionate heart and value how committed she is to her children.  Tell her that beginning this day you will be praying for her. Ask her for specific prayer requests that you can add to your daily commitment. If she is too shy to respond, it’s important for you to follow up with a call or visit.
  6. Are you a good organizer? More than likely the kitchen or the closets need someone like you to take charge. It is not that Single Moms are messy; it is a matter of time and priorities. While you are replacing the clutter with your gift of order, make a note of what is missing (silverware, food stuff, a winter coat). Then find a friend to help you gather the missing items and place them where they belong for your Single Mom to discover.
  7. Tell your Single Mom that she matters to the Lord and to you. Tell her often because it will take a quite awhile before she will dare to trust you.
  8. Feed an expired meter.

Happy giving this ThanksGIVING, and don’t forget to send us your stories. You can send them directly to me at john.fischer@mac.com.

We think too much and feel too little. More than machinery, we need humanity. More than cleverness, we need kindness and gentleness. We need compassion.

                                   – Charlie Chaplin (1889-1977)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A week of GIVING

  1. Peter Leenheer says:

    Our mail delivery man, Brad, faithfully delivered our mail for 15 years. My wife would talk to him from time to time. She found out that Brad and his wife had a son whose friend lived a few houses down. The friend was not happy in his dysfunctional household and was over at Brad’s place all the time. The boy finally asked if they would take him in because his parents were not interested in him. Brad and his family agreed and were able to adopt him. However this created extra expenses. So my wife gave Brad an envelope with a check in it. Brad and his wife came over, there were hugs all around and a lot of love in the room. They were extremely happy that somebody besides them cared.

  2. Peter Leenheer says:

    When new people move into our neighborhood, I go to their home and tell them the following. “Welcome to the neighborhood. I am sure you have your own network of relatives and friends but if at any time day or night you have a problem and don’t know where to turn, feel free to knock on our door. Even if it is 300am in the morning” No one has ever taken me up on this offer, but it sure sets a mood of friendliness among all who live nearby.

  3. Lois Taylor says:

    I always say thank you to the folks in my supermarket….the cashiers, the deli ladies, the frozen food guy…even the manager. They always hear the complaints. I want them to hear the compliments, too.

  4. Priscilla says:

    I’ve been preparing food most of the day for tomorrow. When I took a big loaf of pumpkin bread out of the oven, I cut it half and took half to our 90 year old neighbor who just got out of the hospital. They have a lady from the Philippines living with them and as we chatted she expressed gratitude for her family and friends’ safety back home in the Philippines. It seems that a simple half loaf of warm pumpkin bread had the power to make a family very thankful.

  5. KaT H. says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to all! And, I have done the “feed the expired meter” one 🙂

Leave a Reply

