Early Morning

ImageProxy.mvcIt’s that hour of the early morning when the darkness is deep and the silence, profound. Because it happens to be Christmas morning, that makes it even deeper. Now I know where “not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse” comes from. Usually I am up at this early hour because just got up to write to you, but this morning, it’s because I never went down.

It’s that hour of Christmas Eve known well to parents who have been up all night putting together bicycles and wrapping last minute presents. Every year I tell myself I’m not going to let this happen again. I’m going to get everything done ahead of time so I can relax on Christmas Eve and actually get a good night’s sleep, but no matter what, I always seem to end up in this place. This year I’ve decided to accept it as part of the ritual and actually enjoy it. 

Our Christmas is all messed up this year. It’s the first time we have not all been together on Christmas Eve. Work schedules of our oldest two have prevented tradition. So we decided to celebrate Christmas a few days from now, but that’s not working for me – not on Christmas Eve – when I’m anticipating trying to keep Chandler’s interest without his big brother and sister around. 

No matter, the specialness of the day will win out as it always does.

So this morning, as I meet you coming instead of going, I want to take just a moment before I try for a few hours of sleep, to thank you for these moments we spend together. They mean everything to me. You have enabled me to have a platform for my thoughts and emotions and you have allowed Marti and me to enter your hearts as you have, ours. It is from the bottom of our heart that we wish you all a very Merry Christmas remembering the day when Christ our savior was born. Indeed, He was born and nothing has been the same since.

Merry Christmas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early Morning

  1. TimC says:

    Merry Christmas John, Marti and all.
    In one way, it’s really nice to keep Christmas simple… no money to spare, no gifts, and no lost sleep; got a roof, heat, something to eat, a great Christmas Eve service last night worshipping our Savior; one son will be coming over, one daughter and her baby are still sleeping, and I have had a great time reading and pondering from Luke this morning.
    Lk 10:40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!” 41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Leave a Reply

