People need the Lord

th-3I just saw a sign for a 1980s party. Yikes. A ‘60s party I can stomach (saddle shoes, bobby socks and Elvis). I can stretch to accommodate a ‘70s party (hippie beads, bell bottoms and CSN&Y). But an ‘80s party? Get real. I can remember when 1980 was science fiction.

Time marches on. The world spins. People get lost in the whirl. We get lost. People need the Lord. We need the Lord.

People need the Lord, people need the Lord.
At the end of broken dreams, He’s the open door.
People need the Lord, people need the Lord.
When will we realize, people need the Lord?

It’s a song written and recorded by Steve Green and covered by numerous Christian artists. It quickly became a standard in middle-of-the-road contemporary Christian music. It’s one of  those songs that is over-obvious. When you first hear it, you are sure you have heard it before. But if you try and put it down, it keeps popping up, because it’s a song that has captured beauty in simplicity that states a dead-on truth.

When I first heard it I thought it was too simple. “People need the Lord.” Duh … yeah. It was too big to be said in a sentence. But I must say that over time, this song has worn a deep groove in my soul. The reason it meets us at a deep level is because we realize when we hear it that we need the Lord, and understanding that, is a way of meeting the real need we know that is in everybody.

As long as we know we are among those people who need the Lord. Indeed that is the only flaw in the song, if it causes me to separate myself out from those who are in need – if it’s only other people who need the Lord – then I am aloof and ineffective as a bearer of the gospel. I am just an observer.

Don’t you know that when Billy Graham bowed his head in that famous prayer stance as people came forward night after night in his crusades, that he was coming forward too in his own heart. He was connecting with his own need for the gospel he preaches. Otherwise he would be way too arrogant. He needs the message just as much as anybody. He is as grateful as anybody else for his salvation. It has to be or God wouldn’t have blessed the man as He did.

It’s a good way to go into the New Year. It puts you on the inside track to what every human being longs for. It’s that quiet desperation. It’s that deep down loneliness that grips when the music stops and the party’s over. It’s what you know is true because you know it for yourself before you know it for anybody else: People need the Lord.

People need the Lord. At the end of broken dreams, He’s the open door.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to People need the Lord

  1. I’ve been reminded in the last couple weeks how much I need the Lord just so I can extend grace to others. I have none to offer on my own, at least not in every situation. Forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. But I can’t do it without God’s overwhelming grace lifting me up as I acknowledge my need for forgiveness.
    People need the Lord, and I am a people! 🙂

  2. Linda from Texas says:

    This is a good way to start out the year – knowing we’re surrounded by people who need the Lord and making a commitment to share this treasure we’ve been given.

  3. Bev says:

    Simple. True. That’s all we need. Simple truth.

    As I read today’s post, I thought of how even Christians come to the end of broken dreams. My child died and my dreams for her died. My husband was unfaithful and the dreams for my marriage died. My retirement funds were stolen and the dreams for my comfortable retirement died. The list goes on and and learned to lean on the Lord during those times of heartbreak and broken dreams. He didn’t change the circumstances but He walked through it all with me. He was my comforter, my strength and my salvation. Would I have been able to go on without Him? Perhaps, but as a broken, self-pitying person. He now allows me to help and encourage others that they, too, can make it through the most difficult trials and find that open door. Praise God!

    Yes, Mr. Fischer, simple truth is what we need. We need it to find that open door because what is on the other side is really amazing.

Leave a Reply

