Sweet dreams

thThere is a wealth of reality and encouragement that comes out of our comments every day. I know many of you don’t have time to read them. That’s why I am posting all four comments from yesterday and my responses as today’s Catch. As I read them and commented this morning, there was an unusual symmetry taken as a whole and it just seemed like a Catch to me – as if God had something to say to all of us today. Perhaps He does.

My replies are in italics.

First, Mark writes: Great advice for me to follow Pastor John: “We can’t exact justice upon one another. We don’t know the whole story, nor do we know the heart. Let it go. God knows how to do this and He knows when it’s the right time. Leave it to Him to do.” What I mean is for the past month or so, a person has been knocking on my door at about 4 or 4:30 AM a few times during the week, or weekend – I know because it does wake me up and I look at my alarm clock. A few times I have tried to rush out of bed to go see who it is, yet every time, I am to late, and no one is in the hallway. All that would or may happen wouldn’t be good for them or me if I ever do catch them, so for now, for me, it’s best I try to let it go and give it to the Lord…

This reminds me of Samuel who was awakened in the night by someone calling his name. He finally realized it was the Lord, so he said “Speak, Lord, I’m listening,” and God talked to him. Next time someone knocks on your door at 4 a.m. ask the Lord to speak to you. It could be Him!

Then Carole writes: Most of the time my dream life is much more exciting than my waking hours. I am always the “hero” in my dreams – rescuing somebody or some critter from something and soundly defeating the enemy at hand. My dreams are quite vivid and I typically recall them well. One thing I’ve noticed – things I do in my dreams make perfect sense, but in the light of day make no sense at all and would never work in the “real world” the way they did in my dreams. If our dreams represent who we’d like to be or who we subconsciously are, I think I like my alter ego. At least she gets things DONE! Of course, she’s much younger, being the 27-year-old I imagine myself to be… until I look in the mirror!

Um, maybe you could consider moving your dresser over a little in case you go for round 2 in your next flight of fancy!

Hmmm. That would be too easy. Besides, our house is too small.

And Cathy writes: Perfect timing to receive this message from you John! I can relate to your message. I have been fighting an invisible enemy in my dreams’ the past 8 months or so….mainly because I am fighting a battle in my everyday reality, to let go of the pain of rejection and betrayal that happened to me, and truly forgive a person. This invisible enemy is spiritual warfare, and it haunts me in my dream world. My nightly “dream fights” are a spar with the enemy who wants me to stay hurt and bitter; and even though I justify in my mind that I have every “right” to feel the way I do, I know I have to die to these thoughts and forgive them. I wake up feeling drained everyday. As a believer I do know what I need to do to release these hurts to God and to forgive others….but apparently I am still wrestling with the hurt and pain this person caused me. My dreams are the same most nights. When does one truly know they have forgiven? I say I have, and really think I have deep down in my heart…but my dreams think otherwise. As you wrote John…we don’t know the heart…and we need to let it go. I understand that and believe those words too. I pray and read scripture…I seek the Lord’s wisdom to heal my pain. Any ideas?

Sounds like your fleshly self is still holding onto its desire for vengeance. It always will. Flesh doesn’t ever get any “better.” You just learn to deny it and say “Yes” to the Spirit. Ask God to rule your sleep. Sounds like you are believing the Lord in your conscious self but not your subconscious. You need the Spirit to rule your sleep. Rest in Him. He will do it. He is the Lord of your sleep as He is the Lord of your waking hours.

And finally, Marc has the last word: John, maybe you were fighting the devil. I heard a story of how Martin Luther once threw his inkwell at him.

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

