Return of the Jesus Freaks

What will people think when they hear that I’m a Jesus freak
What will people do when they find that it’s true
I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak
There ain’t no disguising the truth

The “Jesus Freak” song, originally written and recorded by DC Talk in 1995 has revealed its genius by continuing to show up in the regular playlists of Christian rock stations around the country, but it may be more than that. Whenever I hear it in Chandler’s presence, I remind him that his dad was the original Jesus freak. That’s really what they used to call us, or probably more likely, what we called ourselves, for we were proud of it in 1970.

We were proud to be freaks for Jesus, but that’s just the irony, it wasn’t so freaky to be a follower of Jesus in 1970; it was pretty cool, in fact. Of all the characteristics that the Jesus movement championed – many of them gladly fallen by the wayside years ago – this one thing is worth repeating and worth holding onto: the Jesus movement was all about Jesus.

Christianity was once all about Jesus. The early church preached nothing but Jesus Christ, dead, buried, risen and coming back in the same manner in which He left, and it spread through the power of the Holy Spirit, whose singular purpose is always to reveal Jesus to people (John 14:25-26).

Whenever the church becomes all about anything other than Jesus, it’s time for the Jesus freaks. In the 1960s, the church and Christianity had become all about institutional religion, liberalism and the death of God. The Jesus movement brought the focus back on Jesus. DC Talk wrote this song in 1995; they must have felt the need to get back to Jesus then (the Christian clutter was mounting). Today, it’s almost impossible to find Jesus in Christianity – like looking for a needle in a haystack.

Today the church and Christianity are all about politics, morality, prosperity, America, conservatism, safety, traditional marriage and family, pro-life agendas, the right to bear arms … and that’s just off the top of my head. Where is Jesus in all this? It’s a very valid question.

I’m getting excited. I’m starting to feel like a Jesus freak again. Not that I ever stopped being one, it’s just that being one stands out again, like John the Baptist in the wilderness, or the fat preacher with the “Jesus Saves” tattoo on his belly (see lyrics below).

The Jesus movement preached nothing but Jesus Christ, dead, buried, risen and coming back in the same manner in which He left, and it spread through the power of the Holy Spirit.

It’s time. I’m here to announce: We’re back.

Jesus Freak

by Toby McKeehan and Mark Heimermann

Separated, I cut myself clean
From a past that comes back in my darkest of dreams
Been apprehended by a spiritual force
And a grace that replaced all the me I’ve divorced

I saw a man with tattoo on his big fat belly
It wiggled around like marmalade jelly
It took me a while to catch what it said
‘Cause I had to match the rhythm of his belly with my head

Jesus saves
Is what it raved in a typical tattoo green
He stood on a box in the middle of the city
And claimed he had a dream

What will people think when they hear that I’m a Jesus freak
What will people do when they find that it’s true
I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak
There ain’t no disguising the truth
Ain’t no disguising the truth
No I ain’t hiding the truth

Kamikaze my death is gain
I’ve been marked by my maker, a peculiar display
The high and lofty they see me as weak
‘Cause I won’t live and die for the power they seek

There was a man from the desert with naps in his head
The sand that he walked was also his bed
The words that he spoke made the people assume
There wasn’t too much left in the upper room

With skins on his back and hair on his face
They thought he was strange by the locusts he ate
The pharisees tripped when they heard him speak
Until the king took the head of this Jesus freak

What will people think when they hear that I’m a Jesus freak
What will people do when they find that it’s true
I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak
There ain’t no disguising the truth

What will people think when they hear that I’m a Jesus freak
What will people do when they find that it’s true
I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak
There ain’t no disguising the truth
No I ain’t hiding

People say I’m strange, does it make me a stranger
That my best friend was born in a manger
People say I’m strange, does it make me a stranger
That my best friend was born in a manger

What will people think when they hear that I’m a Jesus freak
What will people do when they find that it’s true
I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak
There ain’t no disguising the truth

What will people think when they hear that I’m a Jesus freak
What will people do when they find that it’s true
I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak
There ain’t no disguising the truth

What will people think?
What will people do when they find that it’s true
I don’t really care what else can I say?
There ain’t no disguising the truth
Jesus is the way

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Return of the Jesus Freaks

  1. Andrew P. says:

    I appreciate your call for re-emphasizing Jesus. It is probably always true that we need to be reminded. That said, I cannot fail to notice (again) that you have a tendency to overstate your case. “Where is Jesus in all this?” Actually, John, He is in ALL of those things to one extent or another (with the possible exceptions of “safety” — not sure Jesus cared one whit about that, and “prosperity” — the Biblical point of view about that is definitely NOT “health and wealth gospel,” but is, instead, rather complex and certainly not central to the message of Jesus).

    Yes, when we leave the impression that we’re, for example, “pro-fetus but anti-mother,” then SOMETHING has gone awry. But surely you know that the reason we are pro-LIFE is, indeed, because of Jesus. If we neglect to get that point, shame on us. But “Jesus freak” without actionable content, so to speak — what does that even mean? If Jesus doesn’t speak to all of life, what then? What, besides a “Jesus saves” tattoo on one’s belly, are we left with?

    Is it not possible to call boldly for correction without overstating one’s case?

  2. DTR says:

    I’m with you John!

  3. Glen says:

    Reminds me of the old Paul Clark song: Yipee ki oh, ki ay, I don’t care what they say, ‘cuz we’re preaching Christ crucified and Him risen from the grave. (Songs from the Savior album?)

  4. TimC says:

    I had a conversation over the weekend with a couple who focus on Mark 9:7, “This is my Son, whom I love. Listen to Him.” That is an absolutely wonderful thought and goal. I don’t know if they would identify themselves as such, but that sounds kind of like being a Jesus Freak.

    Their next step is that Jesus said that He had come to bring the Kingdom of God and that the Kingdom of God is among us. OK, that’s good too.

    But then it gets “interesting”. They say that Jesus never said that He had come to be a sacrifice for our sins. Therefore, the crucifixion was not about forgiveness of our sin. Uh Oh.

    Furthermore, they say that Paul taught an awful lot of things that Jesus never taught, and the result of what Paul taught has been an awful lot of really bad stuff – just look at all of the problems in the church and organized religion. Therefore clearly, they say, Paul was a false apostle, so all of his writings need to be ignored. Therefore, we should avoid church for which Paul laid the foundation (I kind of think that this was their real starting point and they had to find a way to rationalize their desire to avoid church.)

    If you follow their chain – I can’t – every human problem is a spiritual problem which comes from not listening to Jesus. So, you end up having to throw out psychological counseling. I agree that some psycho-babble needs to be thrown out, but there is an awful lot of good that comes from thoughtful Christian counseling.

    It seems to me that if someone needs a meal, feed them as you show them how to fish and farm and work and listen to Jesus – don’t stop at telling them that they need to listen to Jesus. If someone is struggling with a load that is more than they can handle, help them – Be the hands and feet of Jesus.

    I can agree that there are many things that pull us away from Jesus, and I can agree that there are many things in “church” that aren’t so good, but I think that we need to be careful about taking the Jesus Freak idea too far in the wrong direction.

    • Mark Seguin says:

      Wow, brother TimC that was a very interesting discussion u had w/ that couple…
      Let me plz comment on wat u wrote to me back on March 9, 2014 at 8:13 pm “I’ve noticed that you give John the title of Pastor, but I imagine that makes John somewhat uncomfortable.”
      Well my friend you assumed and I learned when I do that I tend to make an ASS out of U and ME. I learned very well in college to ask questions, which I did: on March 11, 2014 @ 3:37 pm: “let me ask u do u mind if I call u Pastor John? I started doing that after i heard Marti had once mentioned u r a Pastor, during an teleconference Bible study so that’s when I started referring to u as Pastor John, because to me that is a term of respect…”

      His answer: “Honestly, you are the only one who calls me “pastor” and I do not mind it.”

      I’ll add, I absolutely HATE assumptions they tend to kill most or a lot of relationships and if you don’t know something may i plz suggest simply learn to ASK before trying to make a point.

    • jwfisch says:

      We’re talking about Jesus as expressed in the scriptures.

  5. Gina says:

    You don’t find it a tiny bit ironic that you slam all these causes because you don’t think they’re about Jesus, and then you put an ad about human trafficking at the bottom of your post? What makes rescuing people from slavery more Jesus-focused than rescuing people from abortion?

    If you truly mean “let’s focus on NOTHING but Jesus,” then be consistent.

    • Mark Seguin says:

      I did get a good lil chuckle over today’s Catch, because I accepted Christ in my heart in a 1979 Christmas Church service and for a while after that my Dad would often call me a ‘Jesus freak.” To which I’d reply the word freak stems from the word fan and if that means I am a fan of Jesus, then yes I’m His A-number one fan because of what He done for me! And it’s kind of funny too, because after the mid-eighties and my car-accident my brother-in-law Jim would say: No Mark you’re not the only A-Number one fan of His any longer… 🙂
      PS Gina I’ll second your point! And I’ll be more than happy to answer the question Pastor John asked: “Where is Jesus in all this? It’s a very valid question.” Why isn’t He to be found in all of those points, if one cares to look and seek? And I do wish that someday Pastor John you’ll try to get over this ‘thing’ you & Marti seem to me have about pointing out the things you don’t like about certain churches, or the more conservative ones – well how about pointing out the good things they’re doing. The simplest and easiest thing to do is point out the things you or anyone doesn’t agree with, which cable TV News is fully of that, plus i do often too, in which I don’t like about myself! And the other thing it does it goes against the very good Catch you had a while ago about this “us and them” philosophy, which divides and I thought Jesus death and coming back some day unties!

  6. Lois Taylor says:

    One of the reasons, if not the MAIN reason, we chose our church is that our preacher only preaches Jesus’ birth, death, resurrection, and ascension. That is all there is. We have 300 attending every Sunday and folks getting saved all the time. NOW is when this is needed.

  7. Mark Seguin says:

    I like these discussion and that’s great Lois I truly hope, wish and pray your church continues to grow, yet what happens when a few of those newer believers start wanting to learn more about the Lord other than jus His birth, death, resurrection, and ascension?

    Maybe jus maybe that could be one of the reason(s) the apostle Paul wrote in I or II Timothy (can’t seem to remember which book right now) to Timothy a Mark’s paraphrase: …bring the books… Which to me suggests our Lord wants us to learn about other things too and again maybe could be seen as why I suggested reading the above book in regards to learning about the many different personality type, so hopefully to help each of us to fulfill what Hans quoted yesterday that Paul wrote in 1 Cor 9:22b: “I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some.”

  8. Linda from Texas says:

    Psalm 25:9
    “He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way. ” I think just being saturated with God’s Word and always keeping the conversation going with Him will help us make right decisions on the current issues.
    “Love HIm in the morning when you see the sun arising. Love Him in the evening ’cause He took you through the day.” And good Jesus music always keeps me focused on Him! I always love your music, John.

Leave a Reply

