The dance goes on

The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life-only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. (John 10:17-18)

Lord of the Dance
Words by Sydney Carter

I danced in the morning when the world was begun
And I danced in the moon and the stars and the sun
I came down from heaven and I danced on the earth
At Bethlehem I had my birth

Dance dance wherever you may be
I am the Lord of the dance said He
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be
And I’ll lead you all in the dance said He

I danced for the scribe and the Pharisee
But they would not dance and they wouldn’t follow me
I danced for the fishermen for James and John
They came with me and the dance went on

I danced on the Sabbath and I cured the lame
The holy people said it was a shame
They whipped and they stripped and they hung me high
They left me there on a cross to die

I danced on a Friday when the sky turned black
It’s hard to dance with the devil on your back

It’s hard to dance with the sins of the whole world pressing in on you. It’s hard to dance when you’ve been abandoned by everyone, including your own Father with whom you dreamed up this crazy world and created it out of nothing. It’s hard to dance when all evil is laughing and spitting in your face. It’s hard to dance with disbelief all around you. It’s hard to dance when the people who placed all their hope in you are looking up at you with such hopelessness. It’s hard to dance when you’re hanging on a cross.

They buried my body and they thought I’d gone

That was the darkest hour of all. Dead, buried and sealed up – even guarded – lest someone steal the body and start some cockamamie rumor about a resurrection.

But I am the Dance and I still go on

But the dance went on anyway. He danced through death. He danced into hell and back out of it. He danced on His own grave. He danced the devil right off His back! He is the dance, and the dance goes on!

Truth of the matter … the dance never stopped.

No one took Jesus’ life from Him; He gave it up of His own accord, and because He gave it up, He can pick it up again. Satan doesn’t even get that little triumph. Satan didn’t take His life; Jesus laid it down, and picked it back up again. He has authority to do both.

Jesus wasn’t hanging on the cross waiting for death to overtake Him. He was in charge the whole way. When He said “It is finished,” it’s because it was.

And as far as the dance goes, He didn’t skip a beat.

They cut me down but I leapt up high
I am the life that will never never die
I’ll live in you if you live in me
I am the Lord of the dance said He

Dance dance wherever you may be
I am the Lord of the dance, said He
And I’ll lead you all wherever you may be
And I’ll lead you all in the dance said He

He is the dance, and He still goes on!

Click here to listen to and download the song for free.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The dance goes on

  1. One of my favorite songs, and definitely my mom’s favorite. Thanks for sharing this today. It’s always a great reminder that Jesus was in control on Good Friday!!

  2. kdenues says:

    Thank you for the free song download, John! I’ve always loved it! Also, thank you for everything you and your wife do! God does amazing work through you! kdenues

  3. lwwarfel says:

    Love this beautiful song that tells the story and joy of salvation so well! Thanks for sharing it along with your insights about our Christian faith.

  4. Mark Seguin says:

    Another big thx 4 the very good song Pastor John, deeply appreciate it and Marti & you… 🙂

  5. Carole in Midland says:

    What imagery this song always evokes for me! The first rays of the sun barely touch the mountain top and there is our Lord, dancing with joy and triumph and as the sun’s rays reach higher, He is joined by the train of captives His own death and resurrection have set free – and what’s that dangling from Christ’s side? Why, it’s the key to death held in the grave!

    • Mark Seguin says:

      Luv the picture u Carloe, my other Catch buddy and this song painted in my mind’s eye! 🙂

      • Yes! What wonderful images!
        Many years ago, I went to a memorial for an old family friend, fairly straight-faced, because she’d led a long and wonderful life; but we all sang this song at the end and that was where I lost it.
        I was not the only one.
        Thank you for this, John!

  6. Steve Bratz says:

    Thank you for the timing of this today. Please pray that I can find a way to share it with my father who is potentially in his last days/hours.

  7. The understanding that Jesus “gave up the Ghost”, as KJV puts it, is crucial when it comes to accusations that the Jews or the Romans “killed Jesus”. No one killed Him: He surrendered His life willingly, so that no one person or group could be tagged with that offence. We all nailed Him up there, so none of us can blame anyone else for “killing” Him.

  8. Pingback: Remember | A Pastor's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

