‘It is finished’

You are encouraged to find a few quiet moments
to meditate today, Good Friday,
on the death of Christ as visited by the song “Tetelastai,”
graciously donated to us by our good friend Paul Clark.
Click on the picture to listen to the song.
Headphones will greatly enhance the quality of the experience.Jesus asked us to remember His death until He returns,
and surely today is an important day to do that. 
cross1

Tetelastai
(“It is finished”)

By Paul Clark

I was sold and betrayed in Gethsemane
Not for gold, but prepaid by the enemies deal
For the Potter’s field
I was silent and drug in a hurry to a midnight trial
where the judge and the jury all screamed, “He blasphemes.”
Hear them cry, “Crucify Him.”
I was spat on and mocked by their words of scorn,
Wooden bats cracked my skull,
Then, my head was adorned with a crown of thorns
I was scourged, I was bruised, I was beaten
And, now they’ve nailed both my hands, and my feet
To a cross here on Golgotha
Hear them cry, “Crucify Him.”
Father forgive them they know not what they do”
Eloi, Eloi, lama sabacthani”
(“My God, My God, Why have You forsaken me?”)
Now the darkness has fallen, the time has come
Not My will Father, but, let Thy will be done
“Woman, here is your son”
“I thirst”
“Tetelastai”

 Minstrel’s Voyage Music / ASCAP 2007

cross2

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘It is finished’

  1. NMK says:

    I couldn’t get the song to come up by clicking on the picture, but I found it on You Tube. I hadn’t thought about Paul in quite awhile. He grew up in my church in Kansas City.

  2. Mark Seguin says:

    Me too couldn’t get the song to play by clicking on the pic, so i’ll do wat NMK did and go loo it up on YouTube… thx 4 the good suggestion NMK, appreciate it… 🙂

  3. Cynthia Cody says:

    These 3 days that many do not know the meaning of will soon be brought out into the fullness of reality so all will know what He did for us!! Thanks to John and Marty for always bringing the whole truth of the gospel.
    Love in Christ,
    Cynthia Cody

  4. bobbobs60 says:

    ~ “Christ the Lord is risen today…”

  5. Thank you for sending this out again. I didn’t have a chance to click on it the first time. Very powerful!

Leave a Reply

