th-7 The law of God is simply brilliant.

King David, one of the leading characters in the history of the Old Testament, who was also a shepherd and a poet, wrote often about how much he loved the law. He would meditate on it day and night. He would revel in its precepts. He would cherish its statutes.

The longest chapter in the Bible, Psalm 119, all 176 verses, is taken up with David’s love affair with the law of God. He sees it as eternal, boundless and perfect. He trusts it, obeys it, and is saddened when it receives no respect, or when it is disobeyed or disregarded. He delights in the law because it tells him, in no uncertain terms, what wrongdoing and right-doing is. It explains God’s heart and mind. It shows him what is expected.

The law makes him wise. It gives him insight and understanding into himself and others. The law makes sense. Imagine where we would be without it? How would we know what to do? Without the law, I could help the old lady across the street or run her over; it wouldn’t make any difference. Without the law we would live in anarchy.

My oldest son (who, yesterday, celebrated his second anniversary with his lovely wife, Elizabeth) is a police officer. He wouldn’t have a job without the law. He loves the law, too. When he was five, he wrote me up on his little pad for sitting too long on the toilet. Tore the page out of his book and handed it to me.

And I am a policeman, too. I love the law, especially when applying it to all the neighborhood kids who hang out around here as Chandler’s friends. I apply it to Chandler all the time; if not in my actions, at least in my head. Actually, all I know how to be around these teenagers is a policeman. Marti is continually catching me in this role, and I hate it when she does, because it just points out how distant I have become. I am not a father, or a neighbor, or a friend; I am an enforcer of the law. I learned it from Christopher: “Here you are son; you’ve been parked on the toilet too long.”

No, I didn’t learn it from him; I’ve had it all along. I grew up in a legalistic home and I like things spelled out. I get angry when rules are disregarded.

All of this is what is simple about the law. It’s all systematically laid out, and it makes simple sense. Read Leviticus. It’s all there.

But here’s what’s brilliant about the law: we can’t follow it. God purposely gave us a law we couldn’t follow, so it would point out to us how sinful we are, and lead us to Christ. That doesn’t mean the law is gone – it’s still here and we still need it and love it as David did – it just means we need the Lord. The law points out to us every day how much we need the Lord. And that’s brilliant … simply brilliant.

A huge thanks to Stephen, Gary, Angela, Robert, Beth, Darin and Jaymi! We have begun. We are 153 new MemberPartnerships away from our goal of 160! Check out this message from one of our Membership Committee members and pray about what the Lord would have you do:

If you’re a daily Catch addict like me, you know the despair of waking up on a cold morning, turning on your computer, and finding something more than the prophetic words of John Fischer or the occasional compelling communiqué from Marti.

At least twice a year, the two of them devote precious time from the Catch Ministry to seek MemberPartnerships from us – the Catch community.

Any membership drive can be exasperating-but this Catch MemberPartnership campaign – well, it’s Simply Brilliant. And let me tell you why.

I am a salesman and a darn good one, I might add, and I know what a band of ace pitchmen sound like, which is anything other than what John and Marti are saying. In fact, John and Marti are not doing anything right – they are breaking every industry rule, beginning with:

  • Not alluding to the superior programs and services they provide to us readers or the number of hours they spend on the phone in one-on-one counseling, or in email communications.
  • Not offering an aggressive, high-pressure sales pitch – they are not even whining or pleading for money.
  • Not taking advantage of the fact that they know us better than we know ourselves, and could easily incorporate manipulating schemes to catch us – a game we pitchmen know so well.

Instead…
Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit. On the contrary, in Christ we speak before God with sincerity, as those sent from God. (2 Corinthians 2:17)

It’s Simply Brilliant. Read on:

Catch MemberPartnerships offer a pain-free way to help further the Gospel of Welcome.  It is a Brilliant idea whose time has come. It is simple to enroll. It is an uncomplicated approach to achieve a vital ministry.  It is Simply Brilliant.

Every time a new MemberPartner is activated, the Gospel of Welcome message extends farther beyond the 139 countries we are presently serving, new enrichment programs are added, and our services are expanded to members, contributors, and readers.

What’s more, a real, tangible economic advantage is offered to all Catch citizens, irrespective of financial capacity:

  • To keep it simple, rich or poor, if there is a “readiness” to give – a built-into-the-heart desire to give, “the gift is acceptable according to what one has, not according to what one does not have.”(2 Corinthians 8:12).
  • For those without the capacity to give, MemberPartner sponsorships are available.
  • Together with this, opportunities exist to register friends and family tax free MemberPartnerships or honor a loved one through an honorary PartnerMembership in his or her memory.

The easiest way to become a MemberPartner or find out more about becoming one, is to click on the Simply Brilliant button:

Or you can call me directly at (949) 315-5533.

Thank you so much for thinking about becoming a MemberPartner. Your tax-deductible contribution will sustain our viability, and, in time we well all thrive. Thank you in advance for your support!

Yours always for the journey,

John

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Congratulations and thank you! “God purposely gave us a law we couldn’t follow, so it would point out to us how sinful we are, and lead us to Christ.” You have deftly and finely explained something I had been rassling with for years: did He send Jesus because He’d given up on our ever coming onside with His law? Connecting with us through Jesus was always the Plan – the law shows us how much we need Him.

  2. Kevin Michael says:

    I get the need for the Simply Brilliant campaign and I am pledging to send $120 a month, but I much prefer being able to choose the day I give each month as opposed to signing up via paypal and have the date preselected for me and an automatic withdrawal made from my account that I might forget to record. I don’t monitor my email daily, or even on a very regular basis; and I don’t get paid the same days each month so doing it that way makes it difficult for me to budget properly. So you won’t be able to “officially” count me in your numbers, but I will support this ministry.

    • jwfisch says:

      You are “official!”. I’ve put you on our list. Don’t have to do the PayPal thing. Thank you so much for your regular support.

  3. Simon Turner says:

    In conversation with a friend today we were talking about God’s Law and he’s going to remain an atheist based on what he sees as the immorality of God’s Laws, particularly in their treatment of homosexuals, slavery and women. The numerous death offences and stonings etc. How do you answer this? In our church we mention the 10 commandments, but skip all the other laws. There are some doozies in there.

Leave a Reply

