Summer solstice

th-11Show me, Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting my life is.  – Psalm 39:4

Saturday we reached the midpoint of the year — the longest day. Every day from now until the shortest day of the year, the winter solstice that is just before Christmas, gets a little shorter. It’s the wobble of the earth that creates our seasons. We’re either tilting toward the sun or away from it. Two days ago, we were tilted as close to the sun as we ever get. Now we are tilting back away from the sun. Each day gets a tiny bit shorter and potentially colder, though we won’t start feeling that until September or October. (Of course, if you live in the southern hemisphere, like our friends in South Africa, it’s all the opposite of this.)

But can you believe that we’re already on the downhill run? Christmas is just around the corner, and I’m still not quite used to writing 2014 on my checks! Is it my age, or is time speeding up? Does anyone else feel this?

I’m thinking that it depends on your circumstances. If you’re waiting for something, time probably slows down. Chandler can’t wait until he’s fifteen and a half and can drive a car. It’s going to seem like forever for him to get to next March. On the other hand, if you are dreading a certain date, it seems to get here much quicker.

The Bible says that our days are numbered, and that God knows that number, although we don’t. But it does tell us to number our days, and that by doing so, we will gain a heart of wisdom. If God has them numbered, we should number them too.

If I am numbering my days, then I am realizing how important each one is.

If I am numbering my days, then I am realizing that I get only a predetermined amount of them in my lifetime. There’s going to be an end to this, so to let the days fly by without taking them into account is to be foolish and not wise.

If I am numbering my days, then I am doing what God does.

I am speaking to myself here more than any of you, because if it seems like this year has flown by so far, that would indicate that I haven’t been numbering my days. If I were numbering my days, then I would be aware that it is precisely June 23, 2014, and I would be ready for this day. I would not be surprised at this, because I would have been waiting for, and planning for, this day, and now that it’s here, I would know what to do with it. I would know that I have one less day than I had yesterday. And that would be important since our days are numbered.

Live each day as if it counts, because it does.

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.   – Psalm 90:12

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer solstice

  1. Allan says:

    A few years back a friend said life is like mowing a lawn. Each time round is one year. The first year seems the longest, and as we get older it seems like each time round the circle it gets shorter and the year fly’s by. Then he looked back and saw all the places where he missed part of the cut. Like time he was away, and missed important things with his kids. Or when he didn’t obey God and walked away… only to redeemed later on. But he still has the parts in his life that he missed the cut. And yes, he’s forgiven – but the pain is still there for those missed things. And yes – the year is going by very, very fast. So John – you’re right to remember our short time here. We need to capture each day and make it special and give it as an offering to our Lord.

    Thanks for helping me remember – as we celebrate: weddings, births & all the other special events in our lives and the regular, mundane days as well. We need to stop and thank the Lord for a day where we can smell the fresh cut grass, or flowers, or sea – or whatever is in your life.

    Thanks & Lord bless you.

Leave a Reply

