21-Day Challenge: Day 17

‘Let there be light’

For God, who said, “Light shall shine out of darkness,” is the One who has shone in our hearts to give the Light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ. (2 Corinthians 4:6)

th-2You are a walking miracle. If you’re a Christian — if you’re able to believe today — that is because God has performed a miracle in your life. He spoke into the void, the darkness, the chaos of your life, and said, “Let there be light”; and, lo and behold, there was light!

That’s a miracle — a modern-day miracle. Making light shine where there was none is impossible. It is in the realm of God alone. Just as the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelieving, so the God of heaven, the universe and all worlds has opened the minds of the believing, and shined His light into their hearts.

If you believe today, it’s because God has spoken a miracle into your life and consequently, if anyone you know is going to become a believer, it’s going to take a similar miracle. This is important for us to know, because it shows us how much we are in over our heads when it comes to those people who will accept the Gospel of Welcome and those who will not. Our job is to love people without partiality, to speak the truth into everyone’s life, and see what God does.

Our vision statement, “Introducing the Gospel of Welcome to everyone, everywhere,” uses the word “introducing” because that’s about all we can do. We can introduce people to Jesus; we can “set forth the truth plainly in front of every man’s conscience in the sight of God;” we can love everyone unconditionally; we can turn grace out to the world; but only God can turn on the light, and when He does, you’ll know it because it will be a miracle, just like it was when you first believed.

Anyone who has witnessed the birth of a baby knows that life itself is a miracle. When that little person sticks its head out into the wide world, and takes its first breath, there isn’t anyone present who is unaware of a true miracle taking place. So it is with being born again, and anyone who is present on such an occasion is aware of a similar miracle. Anyone who is helping that process at that time is nothing more than a spiritual midwife — a witness to the birth. The ability to believe is faith itself. God puts it in us; we don’t come up with it ourselves. My wife likes to call this “warming our hands by the fire.”

The miracle for me happened my senior year in college, at 3:00 in the morning, when I was facing the final in my major field in five hours, I was way behind in my preparation, and I thought I was losing my mind. It seemed like every area of my life that I thought I had under control was flying out of control, and this was the last straw. I was losing my grip. I remember walking outside on a frigid Chicago morning and crying out to God that if He was real, I needed to know it. Suddenly an unexplainable peace came over me, and an inaudible voice told me to go back to my room and go to bed. Everything was going to be okay. It was as real as the table in front of me right now. It was an undeniable presence. One moment I was losing my mind; the very next moment I was in my right mind and completely at rest. No drugs. No talking myself into something. No other explanation, except for a miracle. That’s what it was. Someone turned on the light. And it was sustainable, because nothing was quite the same again.

Day 17 Challenge:
Some people have had gradual, somewhat quiet conversions, and others, more dramatic; but everyone can relate to a time when the light went on.

Action items:
Has God turned on the light for you?
If so, when did that first happen? What was it like?
If God hasn’t turned on the light for you yet, would you like Him to? We’d love to help. We can’t turn on the light, but we can share the truth with you, and try to answer questions you may have, or maybe help to remove some perceived barriers to believing.
Ask someone you know today to tell you the story of when his or her light first went on.

CLICK HERE TO RECORD YOUR ANSWER ON OUR FACEBOOK PAGE

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21-Day Challenge: Day 17

  1. Markus says:

    God turned on the light for me many years ago. A guy I knew and I were hanging out in the same scene and, at times, we were also talking about his faith. I think I wanted to believe in something, but was not convinced of God’s existence just yet. But was already asking myself what it would mean if he should exist. That is when my asking began. The process of me finding my faith was marked by lots of stubbornness, but it was also a gentle process. There was no immediate revelation, but a gentle “sliding into the faith” that happened without me really noticing it at first. Personally, I still think that this was only possible because nobody had forced me into this process. I always had the possibility to say “no” and to turn away, and that freedom was exactly what kept me from picking this option. If somebody had tried to extort pressure on me to convert, I’m pretty sure that I would have rebelled.

  2. Cathy says:

    I became a believer 42 years ago while in college. Another girl in my nursing class was a living example of what it meant to be the “light” that points others to the Lord, and she lived out her faith so I could see it was real; not wishful thinking or a temporary action based on emotions or feelings. I saw real faith in action. I wanted what she had; she invited me to PBC, I listened and learned. I accepted the Lord one day when I was ready to commit my life to this man Jesus; and accept He was the only living God; worthy of all praise, glory and honor. Over the years of being a believer I realize that people are starved to see the authenticity of Christ through our actions; not just our words. It does take God to lift the veil of darkness in people’s lives; but it also requires us to reach out to others so they can be curious enough to want to know who the real Jesus is. We can water the seed of faith and then God can do the harvest.

Leave a Reply

