Beggar soul

th-28Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:31-32)

Don’t you want to be Christ’s disciple? Don’t you want to follow Jesus? Don’t you want to sit at His feet and learn from Him? Don’t you want to cut through all the crap and know the truth — the real truth as taught by Jesus Himself? And even with being set free at the end of this learning process, aren’t you most excited about just learning from Jesus? Isn’t there something truly exciting about getting it straight from Him, especially when you find out what He’s teaching is different from what everyone else is teaching — even those who are supposedly His representatives?

I don’t know about you, but this is what gets my heart pounding and my blood flowing. It’s what clears the air of so much spiritual debris. Knowing the truth as Jesus tells it. And when what Jesus says flies in the face of common knowledge and convention, then I get even more excited because that means I’m probably getting it right.

The teaching of Jesus redefines everything. It changes the rules. It puts the shoe on the other foot, or throws it out entirely. Take, for instance, the very first thing He teaches His disciples after going up on a mountain and sitting down with them around Him. He says: “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 5:3)

Say what?

Well off are those who are not well off.

That’s what I thought He said. No wonder the disciples were scratching their heads most of the time.

Revere losing. Champion weakness. Value the impoverished soul. When your resources are all used up; when you are at the end of your rope; when you look at yourself and see a very poor man; when you have nothing to show for all your religious efforts and pedigree; when your soul is running on empty; then rejoice, because you are in the best possible place. You are blessed. Not “You will be blessed down the road a bit,” but you are blessed right now. A state of spiritual impoverishment is the best place to be.

And does this only happen once? Not unless you only want to be blessed once. It’s a state of being — an awareness of need that is at the bedrock of spiritual blessing and usefulness.

It is the doorway to heaven and God’s kingdom on earth. It’s where it all starts and ends. “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beggar soul

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” To me means I’ll stop relying on myself and my goodness to think is enough…

  2. mark s says:

    I just received this, i believe fake email fro Marti Fisher:
    Hello,
    This message may be coming to you as a surprise but I need your help.Few days back we made an unannounced vacation trip to Dubai, UAE.Everything was going fine until last night when we were mugged on our way back to the hotel.They Stole all our cash,credit cards and cellphone but thank God we still have our lives and passport.Another shocking is that the hotel manager has been unhelpful to us for reasons i don’t know. I’m writing you from a local library cybercafe..I’ve reported to the police and after writing down some statements that’s the last i had from them.i contacted the consulate and all I keep hearing is they will get back to me. I need your help ..I need you to help me out with a loan to settle my bills here so we can get back home, our return flight leaves soon. I’ll refund the money as soon as I get back. All I need is $3,150 ..Let me know if you can get me the money then I tell you how to get it to me.

    Regards.
    Marti Fischer

    may i plz suggest that Marti changes her password

  3. In J. R. R. Tolkien’s book The Hobbit, the wizard Gandalf explains why he has selected a small hobbit like Bilbo to accompany the dwarves to fight the enemy. He says, “Saruman believes it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. I found it is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love.”

    That’s what Jesus teaches us as well. Warning us that we would live in dark times, He reminded us that because of Him we are “the light of the world” (Matt. 5:14) and that our good deeds would be the power against the darkness for the glory of God (v.16). And Peter, writing to believers in Christ who were facing severe persecution, told them to live so that those accusing them would “by [their] good works which they observe, glorify God” (1 Peter 2:12).

    There is one force that the darkness cannot conquer—the force of loving acts of kindness done in Jesus’ name. It is God’s people who turn the other cheek, go the extra mile, and forgive and even love their enemies who oppose them who have the power to turn the tide against evil. So look for the privileged opportunity to perform acts of kindness today to bring the light of Christ to others.
    – Joe Sowell

    (excerpted from Radio Bible Classes daily devotional “Our Daily Bread”:
    http://odb.org/2014/08/23/keeping-darkness-at-bay/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+odb%2Ffeed+%28Our+Daily+Bread%29 )

  4. fishhawk says:

    “John Fischer” has been included in our A Sunday Drive. Be assured that we hope this helps to point even more visitors in your direction.

    http://asthecrackerheadcrumbles.blogspot.com/2014/08/a-sunday-drive_24.html

Leave a Reply

