Your place in this world

One of our readers in her comments turned me onto a Michael W. Smith song with the following lyric:th-1

Looking for a reason
Roaming through the night to find
My place in this world
My place in this world

It’s an accurate description, I think, of how we all feel in regards to the search for meaning and place. Everyone wants to know why they’re here and what is it that will bring significance to their lives.

As I think about it, though, I come to the conclusion that our place in this world comes not in the form of a location — certainly not a permanent place to relax and call home. That place is eternal in the heavens. But our place in this world is realized in discovering our purpose — our task to do while we are here. It’s our purpose that provides “place.”

Our place in this world is found in the loving and accepting of others and the sharing of the Gospel of Welcome, which is that Jesus wants a relationship with everyone and has removed the barriers to that relationship in order to make it possible. What greater “place” could there be?

Your and my place in this world is found in acting out our purpose. We can do that from a place. Indeed, if we have a hold of this, God can move us around from place to place. He may change your job because of the people you will meet and share your life with in a new one. He may put you in the hospital because He wants you in a room next to another patient who is waiting to hear about Jesus. He may move you to a new neighborhood for the same reason.

Our address on earth is not our destination. Our destination is heaven. Our address on earth is our launching pad to effectiveness. Our address is a community of people God has for us to love. That is as much “place” as we need.

“Foxes have dens and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head” (Luke 9:58).

Jesus had no place to call home; the whole world was His place, and through us, His followers, He’s been just about everywhere. The next place He has to be is the next place you will be today. How about that for knowing your place in this world?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Your place in this world

  1. Cynthia Vera says:

    My place in the world this morning is peaceful at the present moment. The LORD has provided rest after a long journey. The rain is falling and I am being refreshed in my soul!
    I look forward to the day!
    Cynthia

  2. Mark Seguin says:

    “The next place He has to be is the next place you will be today. How about that for knowing your place in this world?” that gets me excited and to praise God too 4 His loving kindness… 🙂
    PS I’m also looking forward to today with ya Cynthia…

  3. Karen G. says:

    My quest for place is a little more long-range than today. I will be completing my last chemo treatment next week, and am beginning to look forward to what the Lord has in mind for me next.
    I have had some wonderful interactions with people as a result of wearing one “chemo cap” or another, and I wonder how i will be able to continue connecting with others without that ice breaker, if you will…

  4. Shelley Colyer says:

    Dear Karen G. Having been a former cancer patient myself ( truly a BLESSING! ) we know the Lord will continue to put people in your path, and what a witness you will be to the Lord’s grace and healing in your life…a wonderful testimony! Live each day as it comes…we are connected through Christ…praying for you.

Leave a Reply

