Grace stepping out

th-8Inspired by “grace turned outward,” Colleen wrote:

“I can remember working in a cancer hospital, where a man lost part of his foot only to learn later they needed to remove more. His girlfriend abandoned him, and God put me in an awkward position. I showed up when his medication drip was not working. I do not like hugs, and this man grabbed my hand, hugged it, kissed it, and all I could do was be there for him in spite of my own feelings. Yes, Grace doesn’t just work on the inside, but grace reflects from the inside out, as you say, and I know this very well! Keep stepping forward and stepping out!”

1. Colleen found out some valuable things here. Often all we need in order to be used by God is to get ourselves to where the need is. The Holy Spirit in us is so eager to work that He will take over once we’ve overcome whatever barrier prevented us from stepping out.

2. Caring can be awkward and embarrassing. Someone hugging and kissing your hand could feel a little weird, but it’s genuine appreciation. Giving makes you as vulnerable as receiving.

3. Grace cannot be received in isolation; it is received so that it can be given out.

Pardon another baseball illustration, but it’s a coaching fact that catchers who can throw out runners trying to steal second base do so by learning that receiving the ball from the pitcher and throwing quickly down to second base can happen effectively only when it’s done with one fluid motion that does both receiving and throwing. It’s not a two-step process: receive the ball, and then throw the ball. It’s receiving and throwing all in one. I’ve seen catchers practice this over and over again in spring training, and the best catchers are the ones who have this down to a one-step process.

In fact, in Jesus’ teachings, receiving and giving cannot be separated. It’s one fluid motion. “… and forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors.” The preposition “as” ties these two inextricably together. It’s a one-step process; you can’t have one without the other. Consequently, the reverse is also true: If I can’t forgive someone, that is a clear indication that I haven’t allowed myself to be forgiven. If I can’t love, it’s because I don’t believe I am loved. If I can’t give mercy, it means I haven’t received mercy, or at least I don’t believe it. If I’m wanting people to have to pay for their sins, it’s a clear indication that I think I’m still paying for mine.

Grace turned outward is an incredible joy. It’s a celebration of freedom and abandonment. “I can’t believe I get this; here, you get it too!” “If I’m forgiven, everyone’s forgiven!” “If I’m welcome, everyone’s welcome!” “If God can love me, I can love anybody.”

Thank you, Colleen, for showing us again what the Gospel of Welcome is really like.

Did you know that people like Colleen are being set free every day by the Gospel of Welcome? Did you know we have many stories like this of what people are discovering by showing up where the action is?

Become a MemberPartner today, because the Catch is so much more than just the Catch.

Click here to find out more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grace stepping out

  1. Martha Nelson says:

    Generosity springs from the realization that everything we have and all that we are belongs to the Lord. The only reason we have is that He has given. Lord, help my hands to be open at all times so that every day You can put in what You wish and take out what You wish as well. Make me a conduit of Your love and provisions! Thank, You for this reminder!

  2. TimC says:

    With Colleen’s awkward situation, I got to wondering about Jesus’ encounter with Mary dumping perfume on his feet and wiping her tears with her hair. Talk about awkward.

Leave a Reply

