Timely advice from Elastigirl

thFor such a time as this, I offer some advice from “Elastigirl,” the “super” from one of my favorite animated movies, “The Incredibles.”  Bob and Helen Par are retired superheroes trying to have a normal life, raising a family in the suburbs, when they get sucked back into their superhero stint of saving the world. The children have untested powers they have inherited from their parents DNA that they will need to draw upon in the current crisis. In a moment of truth, Helen (“Elastigirl”) has to leave two of her children to fend for themselves while she goes off to rescue her husband, Bob (“Mr. Incredible”). It’s her speech to the children that always gets my attention whenever I see this fun, fast-paced movie. 

Up until this moment, Helen has been discouraging her kids to play around with their latent powers so that they wouldn’t stick out among the other kids in the neighborhood. In their physical competitions at school, they have to constantly hold back — even lose on purpose now and then, in order to live a normal life. This time, she has to reverse that rule.

“But things are different now,” she says to her daughter as she prepares to leave her and their son, Dash, in enemy territory, “and doubt is a luxury we can’t afford any more, Sweetie. You have more power than you realize. Don’t think, and don’t worry. If the time comes, you’ll know what to do. It’s in your blood.”

Actually this sounds strikingly similar to the way Jesus prepared his disciples to go out without him. As followers of Christ, we have more power than we realize. Don’t think too much, or in other words, don’t psyche yourself out with rules and requirements. Step into the situation because you have what it takes; it will come to you when you need it. And remember… “It’s in your blood,” because the Holy Spirit is within you giving you what you need, when you need it.

It’s timely advice as we face a New Year. There are many demands that normal life places on a person today, and then add to that the expectations of a person who wants to represent the Gospel of Welcome in the marketplace. There will be conflicts from without, and wars from within, but have no fear, because the power of Christ that is in you is greater than the power of darkness that is in the world. Because of the power of Christ in us, we are all supers. Get used to thinking of yourself as a super, and remember, “Doubt is simply a luxury we can’t afford any more.”

“On my account you will be brought before governors and kings as witnesses to them and to the Gentiles. But when they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.” (Matthew 10:18-20)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Timely advice from Elastigirl

  1. A timely post John. The last few days I’ve been fighting a cold and fatigue and that’s always when the enemy comes at me, especially at night. I’ve spent the last few nights staring all the impossibly high mountains square in the face, feeling tiny, hopeless, spent and afraid in the deepest parts of my being. I was laying on the couch because hubby was snoring blissfully away and I couldn’t sleep. I cried out (raged?) to God and he let me know He was there by giving me two images: one of me kneeling at the manger and the other of me kneeling at the cross. He asked me if I really meant it when I surrendered my life to Him. I realized I had meant it more than I have ever meant anything else in my life, that for me, come what may, there is absolutely no going back. I have been ruined for anything less than the full glory and bliss of knowing Him, impossible mountains notwithstanding. I remembered again that it didn’t matter what happened to me, come what may I am His, fully and willingly enslaved to His love and plan for my life. Relief and peace washed over me and I fell deeply asleep, afraid no longer. The next morning I woke to drink my coffee out of a mug my daughter and new son had given me for Christmas. It has the word Faith on it, with a quip about how faith is not always a gigantic leap into the wild blue, but often just taking the next small step. Yes, the just the next small step.

Leave a Reply

