Rocked out

th-27Two stories from yesterday’s Catch communicate the essence of the message better than anything I could ever say.

My wife and I felt compelled for far too long to try to be sure our son knew we loved him yet couldn’t condone his being gay (or rather any expression of such – but that was very hard for him to separate out). He heard and felt this as entirely unloving and un-accepting of him as a person. I have quite a few wonderful gay friends now, and they absolutely loathe the “love the sinner, hate the sin” saying, and those with Christian families absolutely feel little to no love expressed in the concept. As with so many other things, we apply this saying to only a few areas, homosexuality being perhaps #1. Most parents of an unbelieving heterosexual child don’t seem compelled to drive the “love the sinner, hate the sin” point home.

I wish my wife and I had gone with what our hearts (and probably the Holy Spirit’s nudging) were telling us far earlier: that it is God’s job to work out the details, and we can be free to love our son wholeheartedly and unashamedly for who he is. We are trying to do the same with his long-term boyfriend who’s graduating from state college this spring.

Loving someone doesn’t mean you condone anything; it just means you love them.

My brother, Bob, died in the 70s of AIDS. It was hard on my folks who had accepted (not easily) the fact that Bob was gay. My dad had been one of the first Navy seals in WWII. They were life-long members of church — in the choir as long as I can remember. Always involved. Then, Bob died. In their grief unfortunately many in their church told them “he deserved to die” or “he’s in hell”. Oh geez. My folks never went back to church again. My sister’s marriage ended in divorce partly due to it. It caused so much damage.

Your message of LOVE is sorely needed. It always has been and will be for the ages. May we always remember. Thank you so so much.

When my brother died, I was there. He was in the hospital in L.A. with some sort of little problem. I was supposed to come the week before but couldn’t because my father-in-law was dying from mesothelioma. He passed.

The following week I was playing backgammon with Bob when he all of a sudden went into a coma. He never came out. My folks drove from Arizona to get there. I thought they would never make it. My dad, when he got there, took Bob in his arms and said, “I rocked you into this world; I’ll rock you out.”

Loving someone doesn’t mean you condone anything; it just means you love them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rocked out

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Wow!!! Another great Catch! Thx 4 it too and let me plz express my love and thx to those that ‘wrote’ today’d Catch, sincerely appreciate it… 🙂

    I about stood up when i read this very well stated sentence: “Loving someone doesn’t mean you condone anything; it just means you love them.” Amen!!!

  2. kevinm1957 says:

    Simple concept, easy to understand, can be difficult to follow at times. Measuring myself against this concept, I always come up short. Thank God for Grace!

Leave a Reply

