Who does God choose?

th-31Think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. God chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things—and the things that are not—to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him. It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. Therefore, as it is written: “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord.” (1 Corinthians 1:26-31)

Why did God choose Gideon? He was weak, scared and hiding. He was the last one anyone would expect could deliver his people. And God did that for a reason. He wanted the victory to reflect Him and His power only. He did not want to share His glory with anyone or anything (like Baal, or a golden ephod). Is that selfish? You bet it is. It is a “selfishness” appropriate to God only. God knows that when He gets all the glory, we get all the happiness and fulfillment we were meant to have. He made us for this reason — to glory in Him. When we do that, we are in alignment with the universe; when we don’t, we are at odds with everything. So for Him to desire our worship is for Him to want us to be whole.

Now according to Paul, God chooses some people who are wise (by human standards), influential or of noble birth, but not many; and if you are one of these, and you are relying on your wisdom, influence or pedigree, you have the wrong foot forward. Wise (by human standards), influential, prestigious people who are following God don’t count on any of their worldly strengths or pedigree. Liked Paul, they consider all that stuff rubbish. (Philippians 3:8)

Os Guinness is one of the smartest intellects alive, from one of the richest families in the world, with a ton of influence, but ask him what he thinks of any of that and you will find out: rubbish. When it comes to his calling from God, he is as foolish, powerless and insignificant as any poor illiterate nobody born in obscurity.

God wants to accomplish much for His kingdom through each and every one of us, but that will come only through our weak, scared, impoverished souls, so that whatever He accomplishes for His kingdom through us, we can’t take any credit for. The fact that Gideon took some of the credit for what God did through him was his downfall. He did not finish well. He may have knocked down the pagan idol before victory, but he put up his own after. Bad idea.

Now does any of this mean we grovel? Do we walk around with a “Woe is me, I’m finished, I can’t do this” attitude? No. Did Gideon go back to the winepress? No. He came out and followed the Lord’s instructions, and God did a great thing through him. Did that make him anything more than the weak, scared, powerless person he was in the winepress? Not really. It just made him a weak, scared, powerless person — the youngest from the smallest clan — who was relying totally on the Lord.

And once you have one of those victories under your belt, you start showing up for more.  “Okay, Holy Spirit, what do you want to do through me today?” So that at any time, in everything, we have cause to boast, but our boasting is in the Lord.

What are you facing today? As for me, I am facing a lot — enough to send me back into the winepress. I love this winepress! I love threshing wheat in here, thinking I’m doing something important, when there are 135,000 Midianites out there terrorizing my family and the kingdom of God waiting to go forth in power. There is a lot resting on what you and I choose to do today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who does God choose?

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Wow, haven’t heard that name in a while, but it brought back some great memories: “Os Guinness” I didn’t know he came from a well to do family What I do know is back when I was an engineer tech. and doing some test on a car product. It was kind of a boring procedure, yet it required a tech. to be near it, so if and when this product did fail – it had to be observed & noted why and how it did, so knowing this I’d be in charge of this test and the day before thru my business I was given an Os Guinness book for the book of the month – sure enough, I brought it in w/ me – and I enjoyed it so much, I read it all in that day..! 🙂
    PS I still don’t know why & how come God chose to let me become the 1st born-again Christian in my family-I can also remember many of times wondering over that, yet now am glad to be able to call my older brother & his wife, plus their 3 boys and my two younger sisters & their husbands plus all of their children are followers of the Lord Jesus Christ, to which I’m so thankfully & gratefully for them… What a cool & great God we serve, eh… 🙂

    • jwfisch says:

      Wow, Mark. That’s so great about your family members. As for Os … you’ve heard of Guinness beer …?

      • My first “encounter” with Guinness – the man, not the beverage – was through his appearances on the teaching series “The Truth Project” – a 13-part study that looks at everyday life from both a world view and a biblical perspective.
        Os Guinness, Ravi Zacharias, R.C. Sproul and several other “Mensa-minded” thinkers contribute deep insights into these thought-provoking – and recently provocative – videos.
        Whether one agrees with everything the series states is, I believe Mr. Guinness would say, not quite as important as asking the questions and seeking the true answers – instead of blindly accepting and ingesting whatever information is thrown at us like scraps tossed before a dog.
        Here’s a 10-minute video with Os Guinness on the topic “What is Truth”:

  2. Mark Seguin says:

    I no-longer get a notice when someone leaves a comment.. But yes I have heard of Guinness beer – and even thoroughly enjoyed once while in Steamboat Springs, Colorado, on a college break for the New Year – after ‘skiing the trees’ w/ Billy the Kid, in which I got too scared to follow the group all the way down the slope, but had a ton of fun! Drinking Guinness Beer w/ him and listening to his stories… LOL
    So Pastor John that’s his family? Also let me plz ask you what is his favorite book, of yours – and plz tell me the name and author of that book you mentioned over the weekend about lessons from the pitcher’s mound?

  3. Colleen Thake says:

    I believe as it is written in the book of Revelation that we are here for God’s pleasure and He uses who He will. Ummm let me have another sip of that Guinness,okay,lol! (they also make Caliber which is very flavorful) I do not walk blindly in life, but wait a lot on God for direction. I was a H.S. drop out (only completed the 9th grade) and I had hitchhiked to Florida, New York, and California twice. I met a man that I married when I returned to my hometown, who lied endlessly, but I had God, my defender had bestowed mercy on me. I was selected for a course that over 150 people showed up and the class only accepted 16 people. I was floored that I was chosen and passed with a high score. However, I still did not esteem myself, especially when I had to get certified and the hospital in which I did my clinical continually reminded me, they had no opportunities. Anyhow I took the 2 hour exam in 20 minutes, not bragging but showing how God opens doors when He wants you to do something. When the letter came I refused to open it, because I was afraid that I failed, I mean think about it, I need a minimum score of 350 and I did it in 20 minutes. Well I passed with a 425 and the hospital that had no opportunity all of a sudden ‘created’ a position for me. I worked in that Cancer Care center for a little over 5 years until they merged and my talent was beginning to fade by their new ideas.
    I divorced my husband (who died 3 years after), lost my job, my home, and everything, but God doesn’t fail, because my whole life I was told I would never have children and during a time of my dark despair, like Badluck Shleprock (the rainy cloud over ones head) that He again had Mercy upon me and gave me a new purpose called Momma! Now that my son is learning to stretch his wings and loves Jesus and teaches this old hoot a thing or two about our Lord, that I again find myself sitting and waiting for the next opportunity that He may find my worthy to thrust me into! So who am I, nothing but filthy rags that humbly waits upon God.

Leave a Reply

