Mighty hero

th-48The angel of the Lord appeared to [Gideon] and said, “Mighty hero, the Lord is with you!” (Judges 6:12)

As we get set to close out our study on Gideon, I want to go back to the beginning. Remember where this all started? Gideon was hiding from his enemies in a winepress when the angel of the Lord came to him and said, “Mighty hero, the Lord is with you.”

God has a good view of us, and it is always much better than our view. Now that we know the end of the story, we know that the angel was right. Gideon is a mighty hero, he just doesn’t know it yet.

The Lord sees you differently from how you see yourself. How many of you feel like a mighty hero today? I’m sure Gideon didn’t when he was called. He felt a little more like a coward. And yet the angel of the Lord saw him as something else. God saw him as beyond all his fears, doubts and dysfunctions. God knew the story before Gideon lived it. Gideon was in for a big adventure. God knew that, but Gideon didn’t. That’s why we walk by faith and not by sight.

How many of us know what even one day holds? No one. And we may have any number of anxieties as we face the future. We may feel small and inadequate. We may have any number of issues standing between us and God’s will for us, but the only thing remaining is the living. God’s already got our name picked out. We are mighty heroes — valiant warriors — ready for battle. Yes you, mighty hero.

If you have the Spirit of God (and you do, if you have placed your faith in Christ as your savior), this applies to you. You are a mighty hero in spite of what you feel like. God sees you as victorious over what you are being intimidated by right now. God sees you as victorious in spite of all you think you have to do to get there.

It’s time to start seeing ourselves as God sees us, and that view comes through His word.

The word of God is like a mirror reflecting how God sees us. Look in the mirror; the image that comes back is of one who is forgiven, washed clean of your sin, and clothed in righteousness — not your own but Christ’s. The image that comes back is of one who is gifted by God to help others in specific ways, many of them yet to be discovered. And the image that comes back is of one who is empowered by the Holy Spirit to love.

I can hold a mirror up to my face and see someone who has a long way to go. I can see someone burdened with anxieties and inadequacies, most of which he is hiding. But I can hold the word of God up to my face and see something else. I see a mighty hero. What will it take today to go with God’s view? How about you?

But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit. (2 Corinthians 3:18)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mighty hero

  1. Praise! Encouragement and reminders of who is our strength! I have always loved this story where Gideon is hiding and He is called a mighty warrior! I laugh every time I think of this. We all hide because to be vulnerable and exposed is very uncomfortable. I always want to hide after being revealed, and in most cases I am the one doing it.
    Onward, love Cynthia

  2. Mark Seguin says:

    Praise God for the 262 and getting closer to Gideon’s 300!

    Also another encouraging Catch – Big thx Pastor John as I read it I just so happen to glace over my left shoulder to read a VERY beautiful poster that back when I woke-up from a coma a soooo nice nurse from the hospital had made me: “Believe in you…” (and there’s a cute colorful drawing of a bird flying through a rainbow and there is a piece of this rainbow stuck on his break as he flies through it) “and you’ll come through with flying colors!” and while I was reading today’s Catch a tear came rolling down my cheek again… LOL 🙂

    This time the tear was about being similar to our friend Gideon – The thing that really, really helps me is the thought & truth, if God could love me enough to have sent His own son to suffer an awful & terrible death and Praise God He rose again and that must mean He not only likes me, He loves me, jus the way I am – therefore, I should be able to love myself and believe in myself too… 🙂

  3. Peter Leenheer says:

    Thank you for this encouraging post. The last number of days I have felt weak and useless. It is good to be reminded of how God sees me. It helped to change my attitude which was stuck in negativity. Getting out of the winepress was the first thing I did.

Leave a Reply

