Walk with me

th-1Yours for the Journey means we are not alone. It means we belong to each other for the duration. It means that if you choose to screw up, you take me with you; and if I mess up, I take you with me. That’s the kind of thing that might make us think twice before we do something stupid. We have big words for this like “accountability” and “responsibility,” but in the end, it means that we are on a journey together. We are walking side by side.

Sadly, you can walk alone. You can let your relationships drop off until no one knows what you are doing anymore — you are suddenly walking alone — and that is a dangerous place to be.

Are you letting anyone into your life? Yours for the Journey means heart and soul, mind and strength devoted to the love of God and the love of others, and that’s not a general “others”: that’s your neighbor, the person you are walking with on your journey. Do you have someone like that, or, like me, do you need to stop and make a phone call?

Jesus asked twelve guys to join Him on a journey. He told them each the same thing. He said “Follow me.” “Walk with me.” Not “Attend my seminar,” “Buy my book,” “Check out my online study,” “Join my Facebook page,” “Become a member of my church,” but “Follow me.” Go where I go, Watch what I do. Sleep where I sleep. Eat with me. Walk with me. Talk with me. This is the God of the universe we are talking about here.

Here’s a sad reality: The ones who are most likely to be traveling alone are the leaders. What does that say about our model of leadership if our leaders all walk alone, yet they are supposedly following someone who never did?

It’s such a simple thing that is sometimes hard to do. It’s to walk with someone. I honestly don’t think you can say you are following Christ if you are not walking and talking with someone — someone you can tell everything to. Heart and soul. Doubts and struggles. Joys and sorrows. It’s got to be everything or it’s nothing.

I’m speaking to you and I’m speaking to me. Mostly to me.

Do you have someone with you or are you going it alone? And if alone, are you going to do something about that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walk with me

  1. No, John – you’re speaking mostly to me (I’m ashamed to admit).
    And, I accept your challenge to do something about that.

    Two thoughts struggle with (or complement?) each other, though, within my brain:
    “My spirit is willing but my flesh is weak.” and
    “Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world”

    Praying for resolve, courage, cooperation, and action.
    Will be praying likewise for you and the others who may share the same boat – but are self-exiled into our private isolated staterooms (locked from the inside)…

  2. Tim says:

    If you tell someone you are theirs for the journey that might open you up to severe criticism and or rejection by others.
    If you say you’re going to be their for the journey you better mean it.
    Today I am on a journey that I would have never believed I would be on. It has cost us friends and more but not only wouldn’t I go back, I couldn’t.
    The truth of the Gospel of Welcome may take you to people you would have rebuked and or rejected in the past.

  3. Grace says:

    Yours on this similar journey that sometimes has me meandering around in circles. If all the circles lead me back to God and if I have others circling with me I will finally and ultimately make it home like Chandler. Yours for the Journey one foot in front of the other until tomorrow

Leave a Reply

