Caught by the Catch

th-16This week we’re going to talk about what it means to be caught by the Catch. We’re going to try to identify who our Catch person is and then we are going to meet some of you. We’re going to hear some stories, and if you’d like to tell us yours by simply replying to this email, we would welcome it. But this morning we’re going to try to identify who you are. Let us know if we’ve gotten close or what we may have left out.


Who is caught by the Catch?

People who want to hear some honest talk about Christianity.
People who may not be believers, but want to hear what some believers think.
People who are okay with not having an answer for everything.
People who believe in Christ but wonder about some of His followers.
People who can handle the confession of sins; in other words, if we’re going to say that God forgives sin, then we’re going to confess some sins we need to have forgiven.
People who are happy that love covers over a multitude of sins, because they have a multitude of sins to cover.
People who are happy to come alongside someone because they need someone to come alongside them.
People who are trying to make sense of their lives, with fear and trembling, because they realize that God is in their lives making sense of them.
People who have faith, but they have doubts as well.
People who have doubts, but they have faith as well.
People who are dysfunctional.
People who can laugh at themselves.
People who are at home with other messed up people.
People for whom it is more important to be real than to be good.
People who would rather be around a bunch of sinners than a bunch of saints.
People who can’t believe they have become recipients of God’s grace.
People who believe it’s more important to be real than to be right.
People who aren’t sure about the institutional church or religion, but who love Jesus.
People who dislike labels.
People who don’t have anything to prove.
People who are astonished at God’s mercy.
People who don’t have anything to hide.
People who feel like they have everything to hide.
People who can live with a certain amount of ambiguity.
People who would choose mystery over mastery.
People who want to know how to love and be loved.
People who simply want to let everyone know how good it is to be forgiven.

If this is you, let us know.
If this isn’t you, let us know that, too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Caught by the Catch

  1. greg krejci says:

    It’s me.

  2. Amazing, at last an awesome list that describes so much of what I believe to be true! Amen… You know us well!

  3. TimC says:

    Bingo. On all of the above. And I would add:
    Person who feels like I whine too much and really should be doing better standing on my own two feet than I am, even though I recognize that God’s strength is made perfect in my weaknesses.

  4. Peter Leenheer says:

    People who praise God in their struggles because they believe that praise restores hope. ( Psalm 71:14).
    When life seems humanly impossible, God does, what I did not think he could do.

    Perhaps these could be added. It is a terrific list that I identify with completely. Thank you for describing me. It felt comforting to read, because there are so many out there just like me.

  5. Mike Seto says:

    John, I usually just reply directly by email, but I decide to use the website comment thing. It’s coming up on 4 years since first reading the catch and a bit later corresponding with you. You might say that what you were talking about and how you expressed it hit a chord with me so to speak, maybe a good F Major 7th. It resounded in my heart and when I became a regular reader and began dialog with you during my lunch break. You were saying many things that I was thinking and feeling. You helped me to solidify my feeling that I was much more effective ministering to people outside of the organized church than inside. I didn’t realize God had been putting me there for that reason even when I was a pastor. So thanks John for helping me to see where I could be the most effective and ministering to me through your thought provoking words and your personal words of encouragement.

    Mike

  6. Mark Seguin says:

    I’ll include myself on that list…

  7. prisfraser says:

    Wow, you hit the nail on the head!

  8. Liz Williamson says:

    A Christian that finds your ministry for our God refreshing

  9. bobnearseattle says:

    I AM SPARTACUS!!!
    (or, like the others, that individual you’re describing above.)
    🙂

  10. Janet Shalinsky says:

    Yep. I can relate to most of those descriptors. ❤️

  11. DaveK says:

    I fit pretty much the list.
    Couple more:

    People who want to be accepted and popular and successful by society standards but find themselves in conflict with biblical values.

    People who fear and dread because of Christianity and need out of that mindset.

Leave a Reply

