Finding more ways to Jesus

I’m enjoying your comments as we explore the question of whether Muslims and Christians worship the same God. (Especially our dear friend Mark who shared a quote by Frank Zappa: “The mind is like a parachute; it doesn’t work unless it’s open.”)  Some of this is a little hard to swallow, I’ll admit. That’s only because it’s a different way of thinking, not a different truth. Truth is truth; you can’t mess that up. Jesus is the only way to God, but the path to Jesus is going to be different for everyone. Perhaps I should put all the words to my song here for you to consider.

Jesus is the only way,
but there’s more than one way to Jesus

A Buddhist calling on the mercy of God th-82
when he finds there’s no Nirvana
A Hebrew hearing the Messiah’s voice
when he prays on Rosh Hashanah
A guilty man on the witness stand
A gambler losing on seven
A thief on the edge of Paradise
Who will take his next breath in heaven

Jesus is the only way,
but there’s more than one way to Jesus

Some are looking the other way
When they really do want to meet Him
Some are gonna be surprised to find
There’s no one there to greet them
He is the one who opens eyes
He is the one to close them
And the ones who thought they owned the key
Will find that the door was open

Jesus is the only way,
but there’s more than one way to Jesus

There … does that help, or does that make it more confusing?

“Some are looking the other way when they really do want to meet Him.” These are the people we’re talking about here. These are the people who are truly seeking God; they are just looking in the wrong place, and that may not be their fault. It’s the only place they know to look. But show them Jesus, and they would recognize God in a heartbeat. Now, would that be all Muslims? No, (it isn’t even all who call themselves Christians), but it could be some.

In fact, we’re going to meet one for whom this is true tomorrow night on our BlogTalkRadio show: Dr. Safi Kaskas from Saudi Arabia. He believes this so much that he, and our other guest, Dr. David Hungerford from Baltimore, have just completed a five-year project translating the Qur’an into modern English, and cross-referencing it to the Bible in over 3,000 instances. Do you see what they are doing? They are leading people on a path through the Qur’an into the Bible where they will at least have a chance to find the real Jesus — the one who is the only-begotten Son of God who came to earth and died for their sins and rose again from the dead so they could be saved. Don’t you want be a part of that? Or should we just burn the Qur’an because it’s full of evil and lies and it’s a handbook for terrorism? If that’s what you believe, where did you get that? Have you read it? I haven’t, so I can’t speak to that, but soon I can, because I have one of these books coming in the mail, probably today. I can’t wait.

American Christians should be more concerned with what I referenced in the second verse of my song: “Some are gonna be surprised to find there’s no one there to greet them.” These are the people who will cry “Lord, Lord, don’t you remember me?” and He will say, “I’m sorry, what did you say your name was? I don’t think I know you.” These are the people who think they are getting into heaven by any other means than the righteousness of Christ and their own sinfulness. These are the modern day Pharisees who think they have the keys to the kingdom, and who use them to keep everyone else out. We need to be much more concerned about this kind of attitude than about getting into arguments over who God lets in. That His business, anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Finding more ways to Jesus

  1. Greg Krejci says:

    Thank you. I have been looking at a lot o things with “new eyes”.

  2. Andrew P. says:

    Kaskas and Hungerford are doing exactly what Paul did in Athens. He introduced the Athenians to “an unknown god” that they had an idol for, didn’t claim to know anything about, and didn’t want to leave out of the equation. That’s just a way of starting where they were. The Ethiopian eunuch was in Isaiah, so Philip started there. Many others were in Judaism, so whoever the evangelist was, started there. The Athenians were ensconced in paganism, so Paul started there.

    Start wherever your audience IS, and from there, lead them to Jesus. Kudos to Kaskas and Hungerford!

  3. Mark Seguin says:

    Pastor John again you humble me by including a comment made, plus now I know the author of it too… LOL 🙂
    let me also plz share w/ the Catch I had the great pleasure this past weekend of joining in a Jewish discussion group on Facebook and I’m having sooo much fun learning and interacting with the group! Plus I continue to have sooo much fun and a great time talking to & learning more about the Muslim faith from my goods friend & physical therapist (PT) twice a week and this past Friday he gave me a big hug, becauz I’ve been approved to get more treatments and he calls me a good friend and I him, because his is a good man and PT – I thank my God 4 him…
    PS I think / believe it’s mostly becauz I am sooo humbled and tears get to flowing down my cheeks when I allow myself to consider some sweet day I have this GREAT hope I’ll awake in Heaven – and I know that I know it is not because of any good I did it, its only because I asked God’s Son to plz help me and to my amazement He did.. 🙂

    • jwfisch says:

      Mark, you are beautiful, and you’ve got it. You are finding common ground and loving people, and you are getting a chance to share your own experience with Jesus, and that’s everything.

  4. Wine Runner says:

    I spent considerable time reading material at kaskas.com. Kaskas.com states that God gave the Quran to Mohammad. This statement is problematic on several levels. The most obvious should be obvious to every serious follower of Jesus. His statement in Revelation makes it clear there is no external scripture beyond the Old and New Testaments. The second is the character of Mohammad which is far less than desirable.

    • jwfisch says:

      I agree. But we’re not talking about whether these are the holy scriptures or not. Dr. Kaskas is not trying to convert anyone. He’s trying to find common ground. He’s trying to live at peace with his Christian neighbors. And when he references the Bible in their book, there’s always a chance someone will find Jesus and what He actually said about Himself … and that’s not in their book (but it is now).

  5. Tim says:

    These men are simply using whatever means available to try to lead people to Christ.
    The bible says God desires that all should come to Him and no one should perish.

  6. Pingback: Instead of watching the Academy Awards… | Michaelwclark.com

Leave a Reply

