Hazel’s last entry

Well we’ve done a wedding online for someone in our community. I suppose we could do a funeral. Although this will be a most unusual funeral — a funeral with the deceased present, sitting up, alert, and very much alive. It’s really not such a bad way to do it when you think that most people miss their own funeral. That’s unfortunate, because that’s when we say all manner of nice things about a person. They could have surely benefitted from that earlier.

But Hazel is still here, she’s just checking out. She knows it’s time. She sent us her last prayer request. She’s shutting down her computer. No more need for prayers when you’re sitting in the Father’s lap. She sounds pretty excited about the big move — not to assisted living, but the big move to heaven. As long as her beloved Howard can be taken care of. That’s been her main concern since we’ve known her.

She’s always downplaying her own health issues while she asks for us to pray for Howard. She’s been asking by her own count 3 years and 4 months for relief for her husband. Still she keeps believing: “We have no improvement, but there are times when I am praying and reading the Bible I can feel the glorious presence of the Holy Spirit.  I continue to believe in God’s time; He will answer. I pray for His will and I try to keep my head looking up.”

Sometimes Hazel wonders if God hears her prayers, and then remembers He knew us before we were born. Sweet Hazel. Always concerned about someone else. “When I read all the prayer requests my heart aches for everyone. I know God is God and we all have to keep the faith and keep praying.” “His mercies are new every morning, even though circumstances are the same.”

One time she wrote,  “I am wondering if God is hearing my prayers.  I keep praying Psalms 86.  Satan is trying to defeat but we know God is in charge.  My blood count is low and platelet count is low. Have infected teeth — can hardly eat — can’t get teeth pulled until blood count is up. Howard continues with depression and biopsy of bladder came back high grade. On and on it goes, but trusting God to give us strength until He calls us home. Praying for all the others who need prayers. So many concerns.”

Yes there are, Hazel, but it’s time for yours to be over. Don’t worry, we’ll pick up where you leave off. There’s plenty of us to continue on. You will be seeing everything complete — including your handsome husband, whole and well and reflecting the glory of God which will, of course, be everywhere.

Remember, Hazel, what Jesus said, “I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in Me will live even if he dies, and everyone who lives and believes in Me will never die.” (John 11:25-26)

And with that hopeful reminder, we are ready for Hazel’s last entry.

Prayer Request: This will be my last request as I will be closing out the computer. Hazel and Howard are moving to Assisted Living. Praying God will give Hazel time to get settled and Howard can be taken care of. I want to thank you for your ministry through the years. You have given me great comfort with your writings. Thank you for the prayer pillows. God is good and I will soon see Him face to face. I pray for John and Marti that they see improvement every day and that Chandler is doing well. May the Lord bless you and keep you as you send forth His word.

In God’s love,
Hazel

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hazel’s last entry

  1. Godspeed to Hazel and Howard. May you and those around you continue feeling the blessings of God for all the time you have left, no matter how short or long, on whatever path He still has for you to travel.

  2. bobnearseattle says:

    Psalm 86
    Hear me, Lord, and answer me,
    for I am poor and needy.
    Guard my life, for I am faithful to you;
    save your servant who trusts in you.
    You are my God; have mercy on me, Lord,
    for I call to you all day long.
    Bring joy to your servant, Lord,
    for I put my trust in you.
    You, Lord, are forgiving and good,
    abounding in love to all who call to you.
    Hear my prayer, Lord;
    listen to my cry for mercy.
    When I am in distress, I call to you,
    because you answer me.
    Among the gods there is none like you, Lord;
    no deeds can compare with yours.
    All the nations you have made
    will come and worship before you, Lord;
    they will bring glory to your name.
    For you are great and do marvelous deeds;
    you alone are God.
    Teach me your way, Lord,
    that I may rely on your faithfulness;
    give me an undivided heart,
    that I may fear your name.
    I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart;
    I will glorify your name forever.
    For great is your love toward me;
    you have delivered me from the depths,
    from the realm of the dead.
    Arrogant foes are attacking me, O God;
    ruthless people are trying to kill me—
    they have no regard for you.
    But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God,
    slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.
    Turn to me and have mercy on me;
    show your strength in behalf of your servant;
    save me, because I serve you
    just as my mother did.
    Give me a sign of your goodness,
    that my enemies may see it and be put to shame,
    for you, Lord, have helped me and comforted me.

    Even though Hazel may not be seeing this or any more Catches, I still pray that she and Howard – in these few remaining days – will fully experience the true Peace, Comfort, and Contentment of our loving and gracious Father.
    And, not only Hazel, but this prayer goes out to all who may find themselves currently in – or about to embark on – a similar life’s journey.

    Shalom to you!

  3. Mark Seguin says:

    Amen and thx brother bobnearseattle 4 quoting Psalms 86 was going to look it up, but didn’t have becauz of your kindness – I also wish, hope & pray for Howard & Hazel and ‘say’ Shalom 🙂

  4. Alice says:

    This bothers me, a lot. Moving to assisted living shouldn’t be limiting Hazel’s opportunities to connect with her people, it should be opening more opportunities for her. Do we know where she is? Any way to contact her, or the assisted living facility, or her family, to let her know that there has to be a way for her to keep connected?

    • Kris Rudin says:

      Agreed. Most assisted living places have a community computer available for residents’ use. If she is going to see the Lord, Godspeed. But if she’s going to be around for a while longer, she need not be cut off from her Catch family!

    • jwfisch says:

      We will look into this, but I have a feeling that for Hazel, this is more of a choice than a necessity. She has Howard and the Lord, and that may be all she needs now.

Leave a Reply

