th-18

I can’t get this out of my head. I love this first century Christian thinking (see yesterday’s Catch) because it solves so many problems, and it ignites so many new fires. It’s almost like getting a new lease on life. So I’ve come up with some more advantages to thinking like a first century Christian. And I’m sure you can come up with some yourself. If you do, write us and let us know.  I think we could be onto something here.

Here are some more great things about being a first century Christian:

Everything is new.

There is no judgment because there is nothing and no one to compare you to or judge you by.

You are learning as you go.

There is nothing to unlearn because everything is for the first time.

You are looking for new words to say what used to be the old message, but is now old no longer. That’s because you are living it now. You are making it new. So you need to say it new.

When you tell people about Jesus, they may think they know who you’re talking about, but they don’t. So you have to re-educate them. You have to find ways of introducing people to Jesus for the first time.

When someone says you must be one of those Christians, you know you are not. You can’t be, because you are a first century Christian. There wasn’t anybody before you. You’re not even sure who or what those Christians are, and anyway, it doesn’t matter. You are not a copy; you are an original. And if someone writes you off as one of those Christians, well that’s truly unfortunate for them, because they could have had the opportunity to get to know a first century Christian.

So being a first century Christian means you need to know and study the word of God because you’re the only one who can interpret the truth for this culture. The world has never been quite like it is right now, and Christians have never been needed quite like they are right now — first century Christians, that is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Interesting Catch… it’s making me think… 🙂

  2. I really like this. Yesterday’s also. That feeling of excitement, adventure, fearlessness — you don’t know what’s coming, and you can’t even really guess. You just know what you’ve seen and heard happen and it fuels you to step out in faith…

  3. Lynn Suzanne says:

    I LOVE this! It is akin to “What Would Jesus Do?”
    For a long time I’ve not told people I’m a “Christian”, because the word carries the weight of stereotypes that don’t fit my faith. Rather, I say I’m a follower of Jesus.
    But that doesn’t dispel the stereotypical myths that people put onto me, either.
    Now you’ve given me a new descriptor that works. When it comes up, it will be awesome to not only mention that I’m a First-century Christian, but to explain what that means. Because people will be curious.
    Thank you, John!

  4. Gary says:

    I like what Lynn said about the stereotypes that the world has piled up over the twenty centuries. Though well earned because of self righteousness rather that following Jesus. I wonder which ones Jesus was speaking of more when He spoke of the ones who would come after Him that would do greater things because of their faith. The New Followers or the 21st Century Followers or those in between.

Leave a Reply

