We’ll stand by you

Oh, why you look so sad?edgar+family
Tears are in your eyes
Come on and come to me now
Don’t be ashamed to cry
Let me see you through
‘Cause I’ve seen the dark side too
When the night falls on you
You don’t know what to do
Nothing you confess
Could make me love you less

I’ll stand by you
I’ll stand by you
Won’t let nobody hurt you
I’ll stand by you
by Billy Steinberg, Thomas Kelly, Chrissie Hynde

This week on America’s Got Talent, a redemptive story was told in 90 seconds — a story that took years to unfold and lots of hurt and pain to reveal, and yet in a 90-second performance, there might have been enough grace to make it all worth while.

Nikki Edgar performed with her husband and daughter (The Edgar Family) a cover of a Pretenders song, “I’ll Stand By You,” but in her introduction of the song, we got a glimpse of her road to this moment. “I was a Christian artist and I ended up getting pregnant, and then being a teen mom, so they kicked me out of the industry.” Later on, she wrote on her website, “I wasn’t given a full opportunity to have a restoring moment because many called it quits on me.  My life is super messy so it can be easy to get it mixed up. I’ve made some bad decisions in my life that took over a decade to get out of. However, God’s grace is bigger than anything.” Indeed.

The daughter who sang with them, we assume, was the result of this early mistake. Her husband, who played guitar, was also the father. They went on to get married and raise the child together, and here they were, years later, singing on national television to an audience she most likely never would have had, had she reached that career in Christian music that was cut short.

What the Christians judged and rejected, the world embraced. This is, indeed, the way of grace. This is a story much more in keeping with the gospel than the story of a life that exemplifies everything done right.

When they sing, “I’ll stand by you,” in this video, who are they singing about, I wonder? The Lord, perhaps, because that is what He does. But I’m thinking they also could easily be singing about everyone in the audience who identifies with their mistakes — the sinners who understand. They actually do all stand by her, because by the time they are done singing, the entire audience is giving them a standing ovation. This is the beautiful field of redemption. This is the way of the gospel. This is what God does. He doesn’t create perfect people; He creates redemptive stories that touch everyone, because we all need to be redeemed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’ll stand by you

  1. Grumpy says:

    Wow, it is by Grace we stand

  2. That was incredible! Look what we’ve all been missing out on. God is continuing to open doors for her, even when others thought they knew best. And to her credit, as hard as it might have been at the time, look at how the three of them fit together perfectly now!

    • I have to also say, did you notice the shocked look on the faces of the audience when they heard the story? Pretty strong conviction there…I think some may have been shocked she was treated that way by Christians.

Leave a Reply

