“Why doesn’t God do something?”

th-59

Today I want to draw your attention to a conversation between Robinson Crusoe and his man Friday: “Well,” says Friday, “you say God is so strong, so great: has he not as much strong, as much might as the devil?”

“Yes, yes,” Crusoe says, “Friday, God is much stronger than the devil.”

“But if God much strong, much might as the devil, why God no kill the devil so make him no more do wicked?”

“You might as well ask,” Crusoe answered reflectively, “Why does God not kill you and me when we do wicked things that offend?”

G. K. Chesterton was once asked by a reporter, “What’s wrong with the world?” “I am,” the old sage replied, and in that question and answer is a perspective much needed in the world today when everything seems to be going haywire. “What’s wrong with the world?” and “Why doesn’t God do something?” are questions that spring to our lips easily in moments like this, but, as the Robinson Crusoe and Chesterton quotes indicate, they may not be the best questions to ask right now because they come from a self-styled justice that doesn’t serve us well as representatives of the Gospel of Welcome: grace turned outward.

If what’s wrong with the world is always someone else, well, what does that make me? That makes me right, and it also makes me judge and jury, and I don’t think any of us want to be in that position.

Sin and evil are relative. There are many degrees of sin, but at the end of the day, it’s all sin and we’re all guilty. Gunning down fifty innocent people and hating someone in your mind might seem like they are worlds apart but they are really not. They are both sinful and inspired by evil and worthy of the same punishment.

So, as proponents of the Gospel of Welcome and grace turned outward, this is our message: I am what is wrong with the world, but because of God’s grace, there is hope for me, just as there is hope for you too, for the same reason. It’s not up to me to judge anyone, but to announce to everyone the good news that God has already judged His Son in our place so He could forgive us all and receive us to Himself.

“What’s wrong with the world?” I am.

“Why doesn’t God do something?” He already has, and isn’t that the best news of all?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Why doesn’t God do something?”

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Another good Catch – becauz I know, that I know when I which happens too often yell & lose my temper I’m wat wrong w/ this World and more than jus that – yet thank God He sees me through the grace & blood of His Son… 🙂

  2. David Morgereth says:

    Sometimes God does do something: During a personal crisis, a good friend of mine observed that, “I’m not sure where God is in all of this, but I know he sent YOU”

  3. Tim says:

    God does kill us eventually if we don’t get it right. We get eternity in hell and separation from the God that loves us so much.
    Who is God’s forgiveness for? Those that dance the right dance? Or is the good news that all are forgiven? If someone came to you that you offended and said they forgive you but to receive it you have to do a list of rituals, would you feel forgiven?
    Obviously is struggle with the hallmarks of our faith.

  4. Grumpy says:

    “It’s not up to me to judge anyone, but to announce to everyone the good news that God has already judged His Son in our place so He could forgive us all and receive us to Himself.”

    While on the surface of this statement I would agree. I wonder if it is entirely accurate considering the cultural shift in the meaning of the word judgement today. You are right when you say hate and murder are degrees of the same sin. However isn’t calling either sinful exercising some degree of judgement. That is at least in my experience what most would say the definition of judgement is. If I call any (but the most heinous) sin, a sin then I’m judging the person commuting them. Particular certain sins that are in vogue right now.

    How do we present the gospel, the good news that one can be saved from their sin and reconnected with God. If we can not address what is or is not sinful behavior in the first place?

    • Mark Seguin says:

      If you don’t mind, brother Gumpy like to take a try @ answering this question you asked: “How do we present the gospel, the good news that one can be saved from their sin and reconnected with God. If we can not address what is or is not sinful behavior in the first place?”
      Now, I cud be wrong I often am, and sure I’ll be again in the future, yet I decide a while ago w/ the help of Pastor John Fisher – It’s my job and all God ask of me is present the good news of the Gospel and how the Lord died 4 them and let the Holy Spirit convict of sin…

    • jwfisch says:

      That is an excellent question. “Sin” does have to be continuously redefined, however, Christ’s redefinition of sin from the sermon on the mount where Christ make it internal like hate and lust in your heart is good for any age.

Leave a Reply

