‘It’s not about me.’

th-137This series on giving continues to be very hard for me. I’m looking for ways to weasel out of it. I even woke up my wife early this morning to ask what she thought about a certain shortcut for the Catch this morning by using someone else’s thoughts instead of my own. Problem is, you’ve gotten used to my own thoughts, not that they are spectacular thoughts, they are mine and they are human. If I work out these things out loud, I might connect with those of you who have similar issues. Maybe, in some small way, my opening a door to my life might help you open the door on something in yours. We’re not talking about earth-shattering insights here; we’re talking about practical living — connecting life to faith. Remember?

So here is my summary of what I need to know, practically, about giving: It’s not about me.

If I (or you) would live my life every moment as if that were true, I’m convinced I would be a giving person, because my mind would be cleared of myself so that I would end up seeing everyone else, for who they are, what their interests are and what their needs are. Clear your mind of yourself.

Personally, I think I’ve exhausted the subject of me, I know those around me are sure that I have. Time to pick up the subject of you. It’s not about me; it’s about you — starting with my wife. That would be, for me, a challenging way to live, full of adventure, surprises, love, and finding all the other resources of the Spirit to help you do this, indeed, for Him to do it through you. That means showing up fully counting on the Lord, fully engaged, mind cleared of self, ready to focus on someone else, stepping out in faith believing, and this, for our most basic of relationships on any given day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘It’s not about me.’

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Like to add an Amen to today’s Catch 🙂

  2. Kat H. says:

    I can so relate! My husband’s birthday was this past weekend. I was ready to jump in & micromanage! Then the God thought whispered in my ear: “not about me.” I let go & Let God! Result: great weekend and happy husband.

  3. Pingback: People Matter. Who Are You Cheerleading Today? | John Fischer The Catch

Leave a Reply

