Where did we go right?

SOME OF YOU WHO JUST CHECK IN WITH THE CATCH ONLINE MAY NOT KNOW THIS, but a month ago we were on the verge of a transformational event for our community. Hundreds of you were ready for an online Facebook event where we could speak directly to you and interact like never before as a community, about what is happening right now with this ministry and what is important to us all in it. It was a chance for the Catch Ministry to present itself like never before.

The technology failed (and failed, and hopelessly failed).

It would have been so good to talk to you about what the Catch is, not in the language of ideas and ideals, but also by describing what is happening. This always involves surprise. Here are some:

Just how did the Catch, begun as the domain of Boomers, become a gathering place for Millennials?

More, how did Millennials and Boomers cross-pollinate there and develop rare cross-generational relationships, talking about life and spiritual things to each other?

Where did 500 world-wide volunteers whom we know by name come from, praying and keeping faith with people?

Connecting with Millennials is the number one challenge the brick-and-mortar church talks about; creating cross-cultural and cross-generational community is the next one. What did we do right?

Did we plan on this last year when we “cast our vision” (yes, we do that) for the coming year? There is no way we could anticipate the things that are actually happening among us. Who knew?

But we wanted you to know, you who are the lifeblood of the ministry, you who check-in occasionally, and you hard-core boots on the ground, and all of us in-between: this is who we have become.

Whatever we dream of doing in the future, these two enormous facts should remain in our vision: the Christians between 18-29 who do not attend church are independently finding us and we are connecting with them — we are closing the generation gap.

All we can think is that Grace is doing its work, and, out there among you, you are following Grace, and not getting in its way. You are Showing Up.

With all of this wonderful news comes responsibility, which was also intended to be boldly shared in light of the exciting news during the Facebook event, because the financial health of the ministry is something that affects all of us.

Since we couldn’t do that, we missed a chance to talk together — face-to-face — about the needs at the time and do our own fundraising amongst ourselves to accommodate our ever-expanding efforts until December’s end-of-the-year campaign.

We are grateful for those who came alongside of us in response to our smaller campaigns, but we really missed the chance on Facebook Live to show our due diligence, state the needs and simply ask ourselves to consider a special contribution. We were heading into a tough time then; now, we are in arrears. We need $9,000, now, very quickly, in support of the new platform we are building for our Millennial partnership, and for our cross-generational community and an additional $5,000 to accommodate our ever-expanding efforts until December’s end-of-the-year campaign.

I don’t want to try to do in text what we so hoped to do Live. Dear Catch family, now you know the need, and now the time is short. Forgive us for losing our way a bit after the Facebook crash, and mercifully remember how stretched the ministry is (another thing that is better said live) with the things in life that chase us all to the Lord – health, pressures, kids, bills, and people hurting worse than we are.

We missed the chance to meet live, so I invite any of you who are considering giving right now to simply call us and talk about it. We may be on the phone for a couple of solid days, but you are our best part and our (no other way to say it) pride and joy. Look at what you are doing! Look at it.

We will keep you posted throughout the weekend, but we are praying that you will put to bed the Ministry’s need by Sunday evening and in time for Church at the Catch on Sunday, September 25th at:

11:00 am Sidney
9:00 am Hong Cong
4:00 am Jerusalem
3:00 am Paris
2:00 am London
9:00 pm Eastern
8:00 pm Mid West
6:00 pm Pacific
3:00 pm Honolulu

We remain yours for the Journey,

John 949/315-5533
Marti 949/500-3490
To contribute now: Click here

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s