Growing through our addictions

th-40

We are all addicted to any number of things, it’s just that we don’t think of many things as addictions when they really are.

For instance, I’m addicted to life as it is. I resist the changes that are necessary for me to grow because they demand too much of me — too much time, resources and money. They require establishing a new set of priorities and habits and that means working outside the comfort zone of the way I’ve always done things. I want the path of least resistance which lies by way of my old habits. Creating new habits means resistance almost all the time. I didn’t realize I signed up for that.

This is where Grace comes in, and why we all need it. We screw up and we need God’s grace to accept that, believe His forgiveness and move on in His power.

A big part of grace is having to own up to why you need it. Good people don’t need grace. Grace is never about making good people better; it’s about hope for bad people with addictions.

We talk about grace sometimes as if it were a dispensary of all good things. Check in and pick up as much as you need whenever you need it. But grace requires humility, and humility comes from being humbled, and what humbles us? Pain. Failure. Sin. Addiction. That’s me, addicted to bad habits and bad patterns of doing things — letting life sink to the lowest common denominator instead of grabbing the bull by the horns and creating a new path.

But that’s the beauty of grace. It meets us at the point of our need, as long as we are quick willing to admit it.

Now for grabbing that bull …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Growing through our addictions

  1. Tim says:

    A pastor friend of mine says, “we’re not nearly as free as we think we are”.
    What he is talking about is all the things in life that make us what / who we are.
    I used to think I needed to be like people that I thought were the best examples of what I thought Christianity should look like. Problem is, I don’t have their disposition. My life is different than theirs and all the things that make me, me are different than them.
    I’m not talking about excuses for faults but more about accepting who I am and letting God work with that.
    Some things are addictions which we all need to work on and some things are just who we are.
    I don’t have to be anything but the best I can be used by God. I’m sure it looks different than anyone else and that’s the beauty of grace. God can use anyone.
    I want to be a better me and seek God’s fullness. I just don’t want to have to hate myself in the process.

  2. TOM F. says:

    With almost 30 years of recovery – the humbling nature of addiction has led me to the relationship with God that I have today. He loves me as I am not as I should be.

Leave a Reply

