The answer is YOU!

c07477eb-a252-48f7-b7d4-455687ccf52e-thumbnail

The Lord is in His holy temple. Psalm 11:4

Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Thanks to Tim, we can now put the finishing touches on yesterday’s teaching. Yesterday we found out from Psalm 11 that the answer to the destruction of the foundations of society, such as we are experiencing right now through a whole new set of corrupting influences, is the fact that God is still in His temple and still on the throne. And yesterday we remarked that God’s dwelling place wasn’t some place far off in the heavens, but that it was right here. His kingdom is right here on earth.

But then, in a comment on yesterday’s Catch, Tim took us one step farther when he wrote, “I always like to put ‘The Lord is in his holy temple;’ together with,
‘Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price.’”

Well … duh! Why didn’t I think of that? Of course the kingdom of God has come to earth, because the holy temple the Psalmist was prophetically referring to here was simply you and me. We are the temple of the Holy Spirit. You better believe the Lord is in His holy temple because He is in YOU! So what are the implications of that? They are huge.

That means you and I don’t get to stand by and complain about the destructive nature of today’s disintegrating society when we are called to be the answer to that problem.

My good friend and former roommate, Wayne Bridegroom, pastor of a Baptist church in downtown Modesto, wrote me about a group of pastors from all over his town that are getting together to do something about the huge divide in their congregations that was created by this election. The sad thing, he said, was that so far, he’s the only evangelical in the group. What a shame. The pastors who most likely have a hold of the theology of being the temple of the Holy Spirit, are, for whatever reason, staying away. Shame on us if we just stand by and complain (which I have been doing way too much of). You can’t complain about something when the answer to that something you complain about is you.

How about we do this: Let’s have you write me over the weekend and give us some examples of how you, as the temple of God, are being a unifying factor in your neighborhood, your workplace, or your city or town. Let’s help each other get ahold of this. Let’s see what this looks like when we apply it to the real world. I think we will all be encouraged.

Yes, the Lord is indeed in His holy temple, and since that is you and me we’re talking about, we better get out there!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The answer is YOU!

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Luv this wisdom:”You can’t complain about something when the answer to that something you complain about is you.” ❤

  2. Beautiful, John. Thank you.

  3. Gary says:

    Okay John, “As you Wish”…. I am um going to try to write to you. It’s probably not what you were asking for. Please forgive me. Anyhow. I have for so long wanted to be a part of something meaningful. Whether through a ministry or what ever. You know. “Be Ready, Willing and Available”, as my Pastor has said most regularly. I feel by God’s Grace there has been good times and such. I haven’t received the measuring stick on how well things turned out. Haven’t looked for one either. Treat others as I would like to be treated. Wishing to be a blessing to them who need one. I can’t expect that what ever I do or say will keep anybody from feeling any which way I agree with or not. I hope I foremost do my best to listen and learn. Wow I heard a lot this election cycle. I did not seek to persuade anyone, but if asked I spoke from my heart and not once was there friction, I’m happy to say. Short Analogy: Each and every night I drink about a liter of one part grape juice and two part tonic water (with quinine). I have found that if drink this stuff I don’t wake in the middle of the night with terrible leg cramps. Well tonight I’m drinking the stuff and I spot a little bug floating in the glass. I think Okay I am not going to waste any of my beloved drink. So I am able to avoid sucking in the little bugger until there’s half a tea spoon left. Only then did it get tossed. It dawned on That’s how I came to my compromise in the election choice.

Leave a Reply

