‘They went thataway!’

th

It was by faith that Rahab the prostitute was not destroyed with the people in her city who refused to obey God. For she had given a friendly welcome to the spies. Hebrews 11:31

Rahab the prostitute is another example. She was shown to be right with God by her actions when she hid those messengers and sent them safely away by a different road. James 2:25

Rahab was a woman who heard from God. Not too terribly different than Mary, or Tamar, or my wife, or any other woman for that matter, because women hear from God just as easily as men. The thing that set Rahab apart was that she not only heard from God, she acted on what she heard. That’s what got her into not only the Hall of Faith in Hebrews, it got her into the Book of James where faith without works is dead. She had heard that God was with these people. She knew about the miracle crossing of the Red Sea, and their defeat of two Amorite kings, Sihon and Og, and she had an idea her town of Jericho was next. So when she ran into the two spies who were checking out the city, she hid them and then, when the authorities came looking, she told them they had been there but they had left by another way. In other words, “They went thataway!”

 “I know the Lord has given you this land,” she told them. “We are all afraid of you. Everyone in the land is living in terror. For we have heard how the Lord made a dry path for you through the Red Sea when you left Egypt. And we know what you did to Sihon and Og, the two Amorite kings east of the Jordan River, whose people you completely destroyed. No wonder our hearts have melted in fear! No one has the courage to fight after hearing such things. For the Lord your God is the supreme God of the heavens above and the earth below” (Joshua 2:9-11).

That’s a pretty blanket statement of belief, i.e., the supreme God over heaven and earth. That’s coming from an individual with no former history in the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Forget whatever god she worshiped prior to this. She has encountered the true God, feared Him, believed in Him and acted on that belief. This was greater faith than many of the followers of that God who got wet feet at the sight of Canaanites in whose sight they appeared as grasshoppers.
And forget that she was a prostitute. That was no big deal. Evangelical Christians always make a big deal about fact that she was a prostitute. Hey, we’re all sinners — just different flavors. The bigger deal was that she was a woman. A common fallacy among evangelical Christians is that God doesn’t speak to women, especially when there are plenty of men around. Except that, with plenty of men around, God chose to speak to and through this woman. Herein lies the lesson for us today: Believe the witness of women who are following Christ.

My wife hears from God. God speaks to me through her. She is gifted. Her words are true. This is my beloved daughter, says the Lord; Hear her.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, video and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘They went thataway!’

  1. Sandie says:

    I am SO blessed with a husband who trusts that God can speak through me to bless him. On the flipside, I know that sometimes he wishes he wasn’t so blessed! I am still learning to temper my delivery! At least I haven’t gotten to the point of driving a tent peg through someone’s head…Wellll…maybe a small spiritual tent peg! Blessings!

  2. Mark Seguin says:

    As I read Today’s Catch a tear came rolling down my cheek, because it reminded me off a real cool Facebook friend of mine. She’s an Adult film actress and doesn’t live very far from me, so back when I was getting ready to move here. I posted on Facebook (FB) asking for help and sure enough she said she would be willing.

    Out of the 20 + FB friends saying they would too. Just she & another FB friend showed up! And she was a very big blessing helping me out – even stopping by the next day bring me a bunch of food & stuff. Being a kind & loving friend…

    That’s when she asked me, Mark why are you so kind to me? A lot of Christians on FB put me down & call some pretty nasty names. I told her, your sin is no different then mine! She ran over to me with a few tears in her eyes, hugged me and thanked me 4 saying that..

    PS plus she is a very good-looking woman and a great Mom to her two children, which often tell her either on FB or in a text. 🙂

  3. Peter Leenheer says:

    It seems to me that women are God’s Secret Weapon, they do not get near enough credit for who they are and what they contribute. God made woman and man to work together, not to best each other, or to intimidate each other.

    • Sandie says:

      Amen to that Peter! Too many times over the past 40 years or so, I have had believers (well-meaning), including pastors and other church leaders (who I think were threatened the most), try to confine me to the spiritual ‘box’ they had confined themselves in. To put it mildly, I rebelled – working with teens and bikers will do that for you if you want to bring an honest witness of who you are and what Jesus did for you. Side note: In the original texts, I believe submission has to do with “lifting up.” Too bad, like so many other scriptures taken out of context, it has severely harmed so many and robbed them (on both sides) of bearing the amount of fruit God created them for.

      • Mark Seguin says:

        Feel a need to add an Amen to this, Sandie: “Too bad, like so many other scriptures taken out of context, it has severely harmed so many and robbed them (on both sides) of bearing the amount of fruit God created them for.”

        PS my brother-in law, that I mentioned above replied after I told him about my female FB friend, to tell the other FB friend’s about how our Lord treated the woman caught committing adultery & the Pharisees wanted to stone her. I just said I don’t think I will, because no one enjoys being told their wrong and as I learned from an elderly brother: “I don’t feel a need to play the Holy Spirit. He can do His job much better then me.” Of course unless He convicts me to speak-up. ❤

  4. Sandie says:

    Sometimes…when we think we have something to say…we should raise our hand…AND PUT IT OVER OUR MOUTH! As you said, the Holy Spirit doesn’t need our help. Besides, grace doesn’t find fault – it looks for the good and brings it into the light – it praises and encourages the good, without condoning the bad.

Leave a Reply

