‘It’s not about me.’

thWant to know a challenging way to live, full of adventure, surprise, love, and finding all the resources of the Spirit to help you do it, indeed, for Him to do it through you? Here’s how. Fully embrace, agree with, and live under the major assumption that it’s not about you. Or, as I would say, “It’s not about me.” And if it’s not about me, it must be about someone else. And, guess what? It is. Every time I adjust my attention off of me and onto someone else, I find out that they are a much more rewarding subject. In other words, it really is about them. Always was; always is. God was just waiting for me to get the message.    

I don’t know about you, but I’m sick of me, anyway, and if I’m sick of me, I can’t imagine what everybody around me thinks. They might not be sick of me, but they are sick of me thinking about me. They’re even more sick of me than I am because I happen to like the subject. When I am fully engaged in myself, it can be about my good points or my bad points; it doesn’t matter, because either way, it’s still about me. But when it’s about me, everyone else gets left out. When it’s about me, I get disengaged with everyone, and end up being isolated, alone, forced to cohabit with my favorite subject, and that can get old pretty fast.

On one hand, I have no choice — I have to live with me. But I have full authority to change the subject at any time. I have to live with me, but I don’t have to listen to me! I can turn my attention elsewhere, and I’m suggesting that might be a good idea, especially for people like me who happen to be particularly wrapped up in self. Change the subject. Turn the attention out. Let someone else get all the attention for a change. Get good at this. And you might even be able to empathize with someone. You might actually be able to get in their shoes.

So it isn’t about me, and Jesus is fully committed to helping me live for those around me. He said we won’t find our life until we lose it. So lose it. Stop holding on. Do you think you know better than God what’s best for you?

This means showing up fully counting on the Lord, fully engaged, mind cleared of self, ready to focus on someone else, stepping out in faith believing, and this we do for our most basic of relationships every day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘It’s not about me.’

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Great Catch Pastor John, I needed this!!!! ❤

  2. Sandie says:

    Reminds me of an old Toby Keith song. On a serious note, when I was in the middle of my worst anxiety attacks, I could soothe myself to sleep by praying for anyone that came to mind.

Leave a Reply

