Life in the Impossible

th

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” (Matthew 19:26)

Jesus made this comment in a discussion with His disciples over how hard it is for a rich person to enter the kingdom of heaven. He likened it to a camel passing through the eye of a needle. To which one of the disciples responded, “Who then can be saved?” That’s when Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

I’m getting pretty comfortable with the fact that we thrive in the realm of the impossible — that that is where faith lives.  Furthermore, the impossible is not some huge catastrophe that happens to us once in a while, but something we live with every day, and often don’t notice.

Lately I’m been trying to get my 17-year-old son, Chandler, to see that life, especially adulthood, is full of things you don’t want to do. It’s kind of a drag, but it’s true. Whenever I talk to him like this, I immediately have to apply the thinking to me and ask myself, “Am I doing all the things I should do even if I don’t want to?” The answer is all too often, “No.” In fact, recently, I came to the conclusion that if I did everything around me that I don’t want to do, I would vastly improve my life and the lives of those closest to me.

For me, doing what I don’t want to do is the impossible thing, because avoidance is my contribution to addictive behavior. But if all things are possible with God, then I should be able to overcome avoidance. Thus “life in the impossible” becomes something of a daily challenge. Living by faith always puts us in the realm of the impossible or else faith would not be necessary.

We are not talking about healing the sick and raising the dead; we are talking about just living a life that would be impossible without the enabling of the Holy Spirit. It could be something as simple as balancing a checkbook if that is something that is your responsibility and seems beyond you.

To tell you the truth, a good deal of what is required of me these days seems beyond me. That is not a bad thing; it just puts me in the realm of the impossible most of the time, which means I require a daily, moment-by-moment faith in order to carry on. If this isn’t also true for you, you might want to consider whether you might have arranged your life is such a way as to not need faith to live. Please don’t think that by saying this, I am necessarily doing it. I’m simply realizing what a life of faith looks like. It means different things to different people, yet it remains in this way the same for all of us — that God is asking us to do what is beyond the realm of human possibility for us, but is easy for Him.

So what is that for you? Being a good husband, father, wife or mother… being a good employee… connecting with the needs of those around you… getting outside yourself to see and feel with others… being obedient to God… pulling your own weight… making right what you have done wrong…? The list could go on and on. Whatever for you is impossible, as long as it is something that needs to be done, is now within the realm of possibility for you because “with God, all things are possible.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life in the Impossible

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Luv this truth: “with God, all things are possible.” and plz don’t feel alone Pastor John I too need to live by it sooo much better! ❤

Leave a Reply

