I never knew I had it so good

th-4

It’s been nothing short of overwhelming — an avalanche of memories and well wishes coming to me via email, text, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram and other means of message notifications I didn’t even know existed, and most of them going beyond just Happy 70th Birthday to stories about how something I sang at a concert, taught at a retreat, said in a conversation or wrote in a book, article or blog had touched someone deeply and made a difference in their life. I didn’t know. (I still have the bulk of these yet to go through so it may be days before I comment, but I will get to them all, because you all matter.)

It’s important to note we’re not talking about some kind of celebrity-watch here. These are genuine encounters that carry meaning in life and experience. I feel like I’ve met and come to know you — a host of important relationships I didn’t know I had. I never knew I had it so good

I remember reading through long lists of messages after Mark Heard died expressing how much his music meant. I remember wishing Mark had had a chance to see even the half of it while he was still alive and could appreciate it. I feel a little like I died and got to read about myself.

When you dedicate your life to creating something and putting it out there with little feedback over a lot of years, you sometimes wonder if it’s worth it. Last night, I put my head on the pillow with a rare sense of satisfaction, knowing it was.  And today I can say, without a doubt, whatever it costs, it’s worth it.

And now I’d like to close by writing a letter to you. You probably won’t remember, but I met you at a concert in Red Rocks, Colorado, or was it a retreat in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, or maybe a college in Minneapolis, Minnesota. You were sitting near the front and when I sang, I sang to you, and you somehow shrunk that big crowd down to almost nothing. And at that retreat, you were there with your Bible open checking out what I was saying and asking questions when you weren’t sure, and at the college, you followed me into the dining hall with tons of questions after my chapel talk. You took me seriously; you acted like I meant every word, and that was important, because I did. Thank you. I’ll always remember you.

It’s important to note we’re not talking about some kind of celebrity-watch here. These are genuine encounters that carry meaning in life and experience. I feel like I’ve met and come to know you — a host of important relationships I didn’t know I had. I never knew I had it so good

I remember reading through long lists of messages after Mark Heard died expressing how much his music meant. I remember wishing Mark had had a chance to see even the half of it while he was still alive and could appreciate it. I feel a little like I died and got to read about myself.

When you dedicate your life to creating something and putting it out there with little feedback over a lot of years, you sometimes wonder if it’s worth it. Last night, I put my head on the pillow with a rare sense of satisfaction, knowing it was.  And today I can say, without a doubt, whatever it costs, it’s worth it.

And now I’d like to close by writing a letter to you. You probably won’t remember, but I met you at a concert in Red Rocks, Colorado, or was it a retreat in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, or maybe a college in Minneapolis, Minnesota. You were sitting near the front and when I sang, I sang to you, and you somehow shrunk that big crowd down to almost nothing. And at that retreat, you were there with your Bible open checking out what I was saying and asking questions when you weren’t sure, and at the college, you followed me into the dining hall with tons of questions after my chapel talk. You took me seriously; you acted like I meant every word, and that was important, because I did. Thank you. I’ll always remember you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I never knew I had it so good

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    God’s speed to you Pastor John & all of the Catch family.

  2. Peter Leenheer says:

    John, it seems to me that God is saying to you, “Well done my good and faithful servant”. There is no greater compliment than that!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

