… but is he a Christian?

If your ears were burning last night, it’s because we were talking a lot about you. You were the center of an intimate evening where a group of people gathered to learn more about you and celebrate you with a house concert by Noel Paul Stookey. It was so great to meet so many old and new faces, and a warm welcome to all who are here today for the first time.

AR-309189851

from the song, Hymn by Noel Paul Stookey

Sunday morning, very bright,

I read Your book by colored light

That came in through the pretty window picture.

I visited some houses where they said that You were living

And they talked a lot about You

And they spoke about Your giving.

They passed a basket with some envelopes;

I just had time to write a note

And all it said was “I believe in You.”

The year was 1969. It was my senior year at Wheaton College. My roommate had just purchased “Late Again” by Peter, Paul & Mary and there was a rumor out that Paul had become a Christian and that one of the songs on the new album was supposedly the story of his conversion. Being huge Peter, Paul & Mary fans — indeed, we were folk guitar players who had learned how to play every one of their hits — we were brimming with excitement. Having a celebrity come out with a clear statement of faith in Jesus Christ was like a sudden legitimization of our faith, in a prominent place in popular culture.

It was actually becoming something of a movement. PP&M had already released “Everybody’s Gonna Pray on the Very Last Day,” Barry McGuire’s “Eve of Destruction” had been on the charts for a couple years already. Creedence had their own apocalyptic “Bad Moon Rising,” and Dylan had been singing “When the Ship Comes In” since 1963, another metaphorical song about the return of Christ, not to mention Norman Greenbaum’s “Spirit in the Sky” that came out that year as well. There was definitely a spiritual buzz going on in popular culture coming from people who gave no indication of being Christians. But this was different. This one was not feeding off the popular apocalyptic, end-of-the-world theme; it was a personal chronicle of belief.

Passing conversations where they mentioned Your existence

And the fact that You had been replaced by Your assistants.

The discussion was theology,

And when they smiled and turned to me

All that I could say was “I believe in You.”

There it was, as plain as day: “I believe in You.” Even in the context of liberal theology, it appears Paul had found a real faith. But at the same time, he wasn’t giving us any of the evangelical buzzwords we were looking for that would have made us feel more comfortable, like “accepting Christ,” or “say the prayer,” or “saved,” or “sin,” or “personal savior.” He just said “I believe in You,” and that phrase was conspicuously missing in the rest of the song, where it should have been had it truly been the focus of the message. Instead, our evangelical hopes were found a little wanting in the end …

I visited Your house again on Christmas or Thanksgiving

And a balded man said You were dead,

But the house would go on living.

He recited poetry and as he saw me stand to leave

He shook his head and said I’d never find You.

It almost feels like his simple childlike faith was doused by the God Is Dead movement. If your whole point was to figure out whether Paul had become a Christian, the last three lines left you a little dissatisfied. Did he or didn’t he?

My mother used to dress me up,

And while my dad was sleeping

We would walk down to Your house without speaking.

I have since come to the conclusion that our focus was wrong. We put all of our attention into trying to find out whether or not Paul was a Christian, as if that was an end in itself, when, in fact, that is God’s place to know, not ours.

So last night, when I introduced Noel (his real name is Noel Paul Stookey) at a house benefit concert for the Catch (Noel is a MemberPartner and spokesperson for the Catch, who, on his own initiative, donated all the proceeds to our ministry) — to a largely conservative evangelical audience who I knew was going to be struggling with some of the same questions, I encouraged them not to spend the evening trying to figure out if Noel was a Christian, but to merely let him walk beside them on their journey, and receive from him that which will contribute to their worldview and inspire their faith. And perhaps they would find what I have found over the years of getting to know Noel and his music — a whole body of work from a sincere, compassionate man who has deeply informed my faith and stretched my mind.

I do believe that this is the way to receive any artist, whatever they believe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to … but is he a Christian?

  1. sirizaac says:

    I when in prayer or discussion, leave the person’s decision to Jesus since He is the just judge. Its never my call to try and figure out if they are or not “saved”.

    • Mark Seguin says:

      Completely agree: “Its never my call to try and figure out if they are or not “saved”.” ❤

  2. David Morgereth says:

    “I do believe that this is the way to receive any artist, whatever they believe”. Actually, this is the way to receive any person, whatever they believe. (John, I know that’s what you really meant, because I’ve heard you say it over and over again).

    I too spent a good part of my college years looking at “celebrity Christians” for affirmation. I remember the excitement a lot of us felt when Jimmy Carter was elected president, and when Bob Dylan professed faith in Christ… Its really just another form of idol worship. God wants our focus on Him, not on each other.

  3. Mark Seguin says:

    I’ll 2nd this: “I do believe that this is the way to receive any artist, whatever they believe.” ❤

  4. Sandie says:

    A long time ago, over the course of my career working with youth, Jesus used a bunch of irreverent, loud-mouthed, insubordinate, brazen, foul-mouthed, disrespectful (I could keep going on) teens to show me how much I DID’T know about Him and how He works. It was humbling to realize I needed those kids and the NYS public school system MORE than they needed me! Between them and your early books, a music ministry was born – and we got slammed for having weak theology and not focusing on evangelism. Instead, we just wanted to get our audience – whoever or whatever they were…TO THINK! Those teens grew up and got jobs and had families – and many of them remember me with fondness and respect. In fact, one of them is Rashida, my JW friend that I ask for prayer for. Thank you John, for the part your ministry played as Jesus formed me into a believer that is not afraid to ask the hard question and/or pose the hard answer. I learned to always look past the surface and find Jesus wherever He could be found. And I learned that Christians haven’t cornered the market of being used by God. Remember Balaam’s donkey? Blessings to you!

    • jwfisch says:

      What a good word, Sandie. Thank you!

      • Sandie says:

        You are very, very welcome! Today, as I am house-bound recovering from surgery, your daily thoughts and devotional help keep me from going totally stir-crazy! And the affirmation from the Prayer Warriors touched me deeply.

  5. Mike Hutchinson says:

    It was a great night. All of the evangelical right leaning members of the audience were respectful and appreciative of the music and viewpoints. There were no boos protests. I say this because those on the left don’t want to address the fact that the hate we see in the media mostly comes from the left. As a Johnny’s Café fan I have often referred folks who have experienced miscarriage to the song, Circle Of Blessing. The message in the song is so comforting. But I want to challenge you on the position of “I won’t join with those who want to end reproductive rights” to admit that this is a cowardly euphemism for abortion. I believe that if Jesus were here I think you’d find him today, not only down at Johnny’s Café, but also in front of the Planned Parenthood abortion clinic protesting the killing of God’s most innocent. Thanks for the evening. It was great. Please consider my challenge.

    Mike Hutchinson
    father of a beautiful 42 year old daughter with Down Syndrome who has blessed and inspired people all over the world with her love of Jusus

    • Mark Seguin says:

      Many blessings to you brother Mike and your daughter! ❤

    • jwfisch says:

      Have you heard Noel’s song Danny’s Downs? Look it up; it’s a good one. “Danny’s Downs and love is up.” And one slight disagreement. I don’t see Jesus protesting, I see Him lovingly meeting the needs of the women.

Leave a Reply

