Moving mountains

IMG_0494

Jesus said we could move mountains. Now I know at least Marti can.

While Chandler and I were camping in the mountains last weekend, Marti moved two of them. Not the ones where we were, but the ones at home … on my desk — one on either side of the valley where I used to put my laptop. These mountains were about two feet high, full of papers and un-filed letters, insurmountable to me but apparently not to her. I had been saying I was going to take care of this for some time except that as the mountains grew bigger and bigger, they became more and more impossible for me to deal with on my own. They were so high they were getting to be unsteady. I would bring my lunch to my office on a plate and have to balance it precariously on top of one of my mountains.

There are some things in life we simply cannot handle.

This is where the 12-step program serves us all. There are, I believe, places and times for all of us when life becomes unmanageable. This is where we need help. We need to admit that and learn to ask for help.

I didn’t ask for this help. I was either too proud or too possessive to let anyone help me. I just kept saying I would take care of it while the mountains grew and became more and more impossible to me.

That’s when Marti decided to do something about it. While we were gone, she spent the better part of a day going through my office, filling up three trash bins with paper and organizing what was left into two small packets of file folders. That’s it. The mountains are gone. The enemy is defeated.

Marti did a huge favor for me. She did what I could not do, indeed, what I didn’t want to do, and in some ways didn’t want done for fear of what would be found under those mountains. But now that the mountains are gone, I’m so relieved. And I found out what I feared in all that stuff can all go into a file folder that is suddenly manageable.

No one is an island; we all need help. Learn to admit it. Humble yourself and get the help you need. It’s what the body of Christ is for. Don’t insist, like I did, on doing it yourself. It may never get done.

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

Courage to change the things I can,

And wisdom to know the difference.

– Reinhold Neibuhr

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moving mountains

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Thank-you Pastor John 4 telling the author of this:
    God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    Courage to change the things I can,
    And wisdom to know the difference.

    – Reinhold Neibuhr 🙂 <3.

    • Alma Misc Siemens says:

      Oh, John, I so relate to those pile mountains. Trouble is, I live alone and there is no Marti to help me move them.

  2. Becky Earl says:

    Have you heard the newer worship song we started using last week…”Do It Again” from Elevation Worship? It has really blessed my heart. All about our God who is in the “mountain moving” business!! Blessings! Becky

  3. John, I call our method of filing “Sedimentary Filing”. We keep track of the paperwork by the era it arrived and was placed on the stack of good intentions. “Let’s see, That was back in November, I think, so I’ll start about 4 inches down in the pile and find it.”

    My main pile is at the left. The current top paper is soiled from my breakfast pan. The alternate pile on the right has started landsliding over to my wife’s desk, basically blocking the bottom openings of her sorting bins. Of course, both piles have been sliding toward my monitors, keyboard and Trackball so I have these ledges overhanging my work area and the corners of my monitors.

    I agree it is time to get out the shovel and fill the burn barrel. Do we really need all this stuff? I though computers were going to make this a paperless society. My computer desktop is equally cluttered, but that’s a different problem; at least it’s not a fire hazard.

Leave a Reply

