Restless for a reason

th-1

She’s an emotional wreck. She feels useless. She has a number of unreached goals in life and she feels too tired to take them up again. Her life seems to be full of inconsequential busyness. She is sad. She feels she has lost a spiritual fervor she once had. She feels like she hasn’t accomplished anything of real value with her life. Her life used to be much more interesting and stimulating — full of theater, art, plays, trips to the museum. Even church doesn’t satisfy. The pastor gets too political and she doesn’t always agree with his politics. She’s lacking in purpose: What is she here for? She’s overloaded with pressure from things that need to be done, but none of these things are going to affect any lasting change in anyone’s life. She’s got errands and schedules that leave her exhausted, but in the end, what does she have to show for it?

So states an email we received this week from one of our most faithful members. It was a surprise, but not really. Many of us are getting to that stage in life where we are asking ourselves these and similar questions. What have we accomplished with our lives? Do we have enough time and energy to change what we might not like about our answer to that question?

I immediately thought of the classic song Peggy Lee made famous in 1969, “Is That All There Is?”

Is that all there isth

Is that all there is

If that’s all there is, my friends

Then let’s keep dancing

Let’s break out the booze and have a ball

If that’s all there is

It’s a human dilemma common to everyone. No one would be fully honest if they didn’t feel some of this. Peggy’s song would not be famous if it didn’t touch on something universal.

Personally I am grateful for our dear friend’s incredible honesty, because I see something positive in it. Overall, she is telling us that she is restless, and that she is not done. Amen. And I believe God has done this because He is getting us all ready for something more. We are not restless just to be restless (God is not a killjoy), but this restlessness is leading to something new. God is going to do a new thing and we — yes, you and I — are going to be a part of it.

It took courage to put these feelings in writing where you can actually face them; and even more to share them with others. But I am glad she has. Not that I want to make light of the emptiness and depression found in these feelings — these things have been real and painful — but I am convinced this is for a reason; that this restlessness is leading to a new productivity. If God creates an emptiness, it’s because He intends to fill it. Pioneers are always restless. That’s why they pick up and go somewhere else. God is taking us to a new place and He will make us restless until we get there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Restless for a reason

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    Amen: “God is taking us to a new place and He will make us restless until we get there.”

  2. Margaret says:

    Restless for a reason, restless for s season. Sounds like a launch for a great teaching or sermon.

  3. Sandie says:

    This could describe me in the past four or so years. I am restless…it seems the story of most of my Christian life – especially after God called me to, and put me in, positions that followed that calling – seemingly unrelated to each other, but truly so inter-twined there wound up being no separation.When I first started reading your devotional I thought you were talking about me…restless describes how I feel on all levels.
    In the past few years there has been only one pastor that spoke to my heart – he is my friend and mentor – not because we agree on everything (we definitely don’t!) – but because we are driven by the same Spirit and sometimes feel so alone and misunderstood we could cry and beat our heads against a wall. unfortunately he has moved to a church too far to travel to.
    So I stay away from established churches now – not because I don’t like the pastors – but because my heart can’t align with their direction(s). I am getting more out of the daily devotional/prayer time with my husband and reading the Catch. I can’t wait until I am physically able to attend bible study with friends – that is where I have always learned the most and taught the most – because His Spirit drove the whole experience.
    I have learned one thing in my spiritual experiences – the positions we are in are no accident. God has a purpose and I have condensed it down to this…in every situation there is something for us to learn …and something for us to teach. Until those criteria are met, there is no moving on for me.
    Now I only have to make real what I already believe. Courage for us all!

    • Timothy Logan says:

      I would encourage you to find a church to be involved in you might just be surprised how many other people feel just like you i know i have ,you have gifts to share with others so if you are able i encourage you to keep looking there is a Church out there that would be glad to have you.

      • Sandie says:

        I have learned (in 40 plus years) that I do better when I know it’s the Holy Spirit leading and driving…otherwise it’s just me trying to force something. I’ll know when the time comes because He won’t let me rest. Once that happens, I know I have no choice but to move through His direction. That hasn’t happened yet…so I wait. Thanks Logan, for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

