A word about our awesome prayer ministry

IMG_1026We have 12 prayer warriors who pray around the clock. They pray generally for all of you, and specifically for those who send in requests. And here’s the catch, we don’t know where they came from. And that’s the way it’s supposed to be. From the first one to the twelfth one, they showed up, unannounced. We did not solicit prayer warriors. We did not train them. No one wrote us: “I want to be a prayer warrior for the Catch, what do I have to do?” They came, fully prepared by the Holy Spirit to pray, and they announced that God had led them to us. Let me make this very clear: We do not have a prayer ministry today because we decided to have one. We have a prayer ministry today because of God and these twelve people.

These are full time prayers. This is their ministry; this is what they do. They are also called intercessors. Just as Jesus is at the right hand of God always interceding for us, these people are doing the same thing before God — always making intercession on our behalf. To intercede means to intervene on behalf of another. These prayer warriors are standing in for you and for me. They are standing in before God and against the evil one on our behalf.

This is why they are volunteers, they know they are on the front lines of battle where the spiritual warfare is the most intense, and they don’t want the responsibility for this to fall on anyone but them. They know what they are in for; they have counted the cost already.

And this is the supernatural part: they pray, not according to what we want, but according to God’s will for us. They hear our requests — that’s important — but they pray what God tells them to pray. They pray according to His will. And they follow up. They want to know what happens. They want to know where you sensed the power. And they will keep praying until an answer arrives.

Did you know all this about prayer warriors? I didn’t, until I listened to one, and to my wife, who knows more about this than I do. This is serious business, and it’s available to all of us.

In addition to our prayer warriors, there are hundreds of others praying as well. We call these our PrayerPartners. They have become familiar with our prayer ministry — many through requesting prayer themselves and wanting to pray for others as well. These receive a summary of each week’s requests that they might pray too.

IMG_1025Pictured here is something new to our prayer ministry. It’s what we call a prayer pillow. At your request, we will have a pillow specially made with your name on it, or the name of someone you want us to send it to, with a message that the love and prayers of the Prayer Warriors are with them. Each stitch represents the prayers of many, and each pillow is tied with a bow that represents the love that ties us all together.

The pillow isn’t magic nor is this superstitious. We’re not handing out prayer cloths. The pillow is a symbolic reminder that someone cares. It’s also tangible, and it’s comforting. I know, because I received one in the hospital, and I must say that I was close to tears when it arrived, knowing I could hold onto something that represented the prayers of hundreds of people. I hugged my pillow, and as I did, I felt the hugs of all of you who were praying for me. Thank you!

To request prayer from our Prayer Warriors, click the prayer button below. To request a prayer pillow, or to volunteer to help stitch and send pillows (we could use some more help), contact Marti at martifischer@mac.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A word about our awesome prayer ministry

  1. Mark Seguin says:

    I received my prayer pillow too and I cherish it! 🙂

  2. I can’t remember if I ever really updated the prayer team on my friend Laura Johnson. Just sent a note to the team. Over two years of prayers, taking her from near death and certainly never walking again, to being able to at least get herself around her house (which is a HUGE improvement), and watching all the other people changed by prayers for them…well, just want to make sure the team gets to see the miracles that God works over longer periods of time. This family spent so much energy trying to keep Laura alive, then suddenly they were ready to release her and she still couldn’t hardly move her body. That’s the thing about prayer, it has to carry you for long periods. It’s rarely a quick fix, a quick miracle, and overnight success. It’s the long-haul. Thank you!

  3. TimC says:

    Many thanks to the pray-ers for the prayers!

  4. Pingback: Slow Down! — Rosary Prayer isn’t a Hot Dog Eating Contest | RosaryMeds

  5. Shelagh says:

    Please pray for my son Grant George Robertson. A lady dog walker brought him in drink. He has been clean for 1 year since getting the puppy. He is in bed right now and I am 20 miles away and the puppy needs walked please pray.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.